Tag Archives: the whip

The Whip have released their latest album, Wired Together, this month on Southern Fried Records, and I’m expecting a slew of remixes coming off of the 11-track LP in addition to the fantastic Alex Metric version of ‘Secret Weapon’ that we posted a few weeks ago as well as this out-of-the-norm rendition from Blue Satellite. After hearing Blue Satellite’s take on Edwin van Cleef’s latest single as well as a few other dreamier, funkier productions, this new remix came as a bit of a surprise to me. It incorporates some big time Electro elements illuminating that Blue Satellite can make any song and any genre his own.

The Whip – Keep Or Delete (Blue Satellite Remix)

The Whip – Keep Or Delete [Buy on iTunes]
Had to give a shout out to the great original here as well.



DIRTY DANCERS! Go deep into the new season with my brand new Fall mix filled with bedroom bliss + dance floor delight.  Special attention goes to the back to back exclusives by MOON BOOTS and VICEROY – thank you gentlemen for hookin’ up GDD™ + me & allowing us to debut these two smokin’ hot new tracks.

aRod FallGaze 2011 by aRod | GottaDanceDirty™

• M83  – Midnight City (Christian Strobe Remix)
• Gigamesh feat. Nicole Godiva – People
• Beni feat. Mattie Safer – Someone Just Like You (VillA Remix)
• Body Language – Falling Out (Tiger & Woods Remix)
• Moon Boots – Off My Mind
• Viceroy – Unwind
• Beni feat. Nomi Ruiz – Sway
• The Magician – I Don’t Know What to Do (Fabian Remix)
• Sneaky Sound System – Big (Oliver Remix)
• The Whip – Secret Weapon (Alex Metric Remix)
• Katy B – Lights On (Gigamesh Remix)
• Fabian – This Night
• All The Lights – Chasing Colours (Plastic Plates Remix)
• Novika – Miss Mood (Hot Toddy Remix)
• Darren Hayes – Talk Talk Talk (Fred Falke Remix)
• Flight Facilities – Foreign Language (Will Saul & Tam Cooper Remix)
• Gotye feat. Kimbra – Somebody That I Used to Know (Compuphonic Remix)


The Whip will be releasing a new single titled, ‘Secret Weapon,’ on Southern Fried Records this month, and the great people over at SFR have been kind enough to give away fellow Brit Alex Metric‘s remix away to go along with it. The indie feel from The Whip’s original rendition is juxtaposed to Alex Metric’s keen sense of bassline usage making for a great collaboration and a must have for any occasion.

The Whip – Secret Weapon (Alex Metric Remix) √+



With their hotly anticipated “Wired Together” album set to drop on September 19th via Southern Fried, Manchester three-piece The Whip have kindly given us the opportunity to premiere their new mixtape, which boasts a top notch track selection featuring Tiger & Woods, In Flagranti, and Siriusmo. I had the great fortune of meeting Bruce, Fiona and Nathan a couple weeks ago at their show in London’s Hyde Park with the Chemical Brothers. You can read my interview with them for Dazed and Confused here, and expect a full GDD™ review of their stellar “Wired Together” album in the coming weeks:

The Whip: Keen @115 Mixtape by Southern Fried Records

Track List:
1. Crazy P- My love
2. In Flagranti- Latter day methods
3. Tiger & Woods- Dr Burner
4. Mark E- R&B Drunkie
5. Mim Suleiman- Mingi (Instrumental)
6. Matias Aguayo- Minimal (DJ Koze Maxi Version)
7. The Crystal Ark- I want it
8. Siriusmo – Femuscle

To all you UK based Dirty Dancers, The Whip are throwing three launch parties in September for the new record:
7th Sept at Hoxton Bar & Grill, London [buy tickets]
9th Sept at King Tuts, Glasgow [buy tickets]
10th Sept at The Ruby Lounge, Manchester [buy tickets]

Sweet FA

here are five fresh songs of the week. now dance.