GDD™ Morning Update: Nero, Tensnake/Kevin Saunderson, Seth Troxler, Matthew Herbert


Nero Returns with New Single, “The Thrill”
• Win Free Tickets to Tensnake, Kevin Saunderson, and Todd Edwards at Avalon Hollywood Tomorrow Night (3/21)
• Seth Troxler Joins Guy Gerber’s RUMORS Records With ‘Evangelion’
• Full details of Matthew Herbert‘s The Shakes emerge


Nero Returns with New Single, “The Thrill”

Grammy ® award winning artist Nero, aka the British-born band comprised of producers, remixers, DJs and artists Dan Stephens, Joe Ray and vocalist Alana Watson, release their new single “The Thrill” on Cherrytree Records/Interscope today at all digital and streaming partners.

“The Thrill” offers yet another tantalizing glimpse at the evolution of Nero, following last year’s acclaimed single “Satisfy”, and their collaboration with Baz Luhrman on the soundtrack for the Academy Award nominated film The Great Gatsby. Nero is one of the headlining acts at this year’s Coachella, where audiences can expect to hear more from their long-awaited sophomore album.

“The Thrill” is the second official release from Nero since the release of their critically acclaimed 2011 debut album Welcome Reality- one of the best reviewed dance records of that year, receiving raves from The New York Times, Entertainment Weekly, The New Yorker, Billboard, SPIN and more. The platinum selling track “Promises”, also earned Nero a Grammy award for Best Remixed Recording for their collaborative remix of the song with Skrillex.


Win Free Tickets to TensnakeKevin Saunderson, and Todd Edwards at Avalon Hollywood Tomorrow Night (3/21)



Seth Troxler Joins Guy Gerber’s RUMORS Records With ‘Evangelion’


Just over a year since its launch, Guy Gerber’s RUMORS imprint continues to blend the world of music and art with a series of highly sought after releases and events. Following on from Guy & Puff Daddy’s remix EP of their stand out album track; ’Tourist Trap’, RUMORS welcomes Seth Troxler to the label with his debut, ‘Evangelion‘.
Scheduled for release on March 30th, ‘Evangelion’ follows Troxler’s recent collaboration with Phil Moffa for their ‘Rogue Music’ EP, and also features a remix from Matt Jonson & Jesse Heartthrob – marking the label’s sixth offering.
Delivering Seth’s inimitable blueprint of boundary pushing techno, ‘Evangelion’ leads with a hypnotic bassline that’s topped with eerie bouts of spoken word and haunting piano keys – whilst Jonson & Siminski’s remix softens the warped construction to provide a welcome dose of funk-induced techno.
With a shared passion for promoting authentic dance music – Seth and Guy have always been solid ambassadors for underground sounds that consistently change the musical landscape. ‘Evangelion’ finds a natural home in RUMORS and paves the way for another hugely successful year for the two innovators.

1.     A1. Evangelion
2.     B1. Evangelion (Jonson & Siminski Remix)


Full details of Matthew Herbert’s The Shakes emerge


Full details have been revealed of The Shakes, Matthew Herbert‘s first dance music album in nine years. 

As reported previously, The Shakes is coming out via Caroline International, and it’s been touted as a follow-up to the 2006 album Scale. Now, the artwork has been revealed—that’s it to the right—as has the tracklist and the release date: May 29th. This week Herbert revealed a video clip for album cut “Middle”—watch it below. Herbert plans to put out a track per week ahead of the album’s release. 

01. Battle
02. Middle
03. Strong
04. Smart
05. Stop
06. Ones
07. Bed
08. Know
09. Safety
10. Silence
11. Warm
12. Peak

Caroline International will release The Shakes on May 29th, 2015.

(via RA)