GDD™ Morning Update: Kendrick Lamar, Octave One, Agoria


Kendrick Lamar‘s Album Is Out a Week Earlier Than Expected
Octave One Readies New Album, Burn It Down
Agoria announces release plans for Baptême


Kendrick Lamar’s Album Is Out a Week Earlier Than Expected

Kendrick Lamar’s released his new album a week before it was due.

‘To Pimp A Butterfly’ was meant to be released on March 23, but it’s now available to buy on iTunes with Top Dawg Entertainment boss Anthony Tiffith laying the blame on Interscope.

It’s also streaming in full on Spotify, with collaborators including Snoop Dogg, Pharrell, Dr Dre, Pete Rock and Brainfeeder artist Thundercat.

Purchase it here or listen to it below.

(via Mixmag)


Octave One Readies New Album, Burn It Down


Detroit’s Octave One—the partnership of brothers Lenny Burden and Lawrence Burden—has revealed details of an upcoming album. In 2012, the two techno veterans issued aretrospective compilation, and 12″s from the pair have flowed steadily via labels such as Tresor and their own 430 West since the early ’90s— but it’s been almost a decade since their last proper full-length. The new album, entitled Burn It Down, reportedly arrives at a point where the two artists are “searching out new forms,” and assembles material aired during live shows in recent years. “As individuals and as musicians, we have grown with time and through our travels,” Octave One says. “Our music reflects that. Our work this time around has taken a lot longer to produce, but we feel it represents, more than anything else we have done to this point, our complete idea as an album project.”

Burn It Down is described as a hardware-heavy affair that encompasses everything from “triumphant diva house” to “sci-fi, slo-mo techno,” and is due out via 430 West on May 26. Until then, the record’s artwork and complete tracklist are on view below, where an updated list of Octave One tour dates has also been included.

1. Eighth Wonder
2. Jazzo/Lose Myself (featuring Ann Saunderson)
3. Afterglow
4. A Better Tomorrow (O1 Remake) (featuring Random Noise Generation)
5. Believer (featuring Ann Saunderson)
6. Whatever She Wants (featuring Random Noise Generation)
7. New Life (Album vocal mix) (featuring Afrika Pratt-Ansa)
8. The Forgotten
9. Return Of Juno
10. After The Afterglow
11. Jazzo (Album Mix)

March 21 – Tresor Club, Berlin, Germany
March 27 – Perron, Rotterdam, Netherlands
March 28 – Tunnels , Aberdeen, United Kingdom
May 13 – Chateau De Keriolet, Concarneau, France
May 16 – Chateau Techno Festival, Amsterdam, Netherlands
June 06 – Motion Carpark, Bristol, United Kingdom
July 09 – Exit Festival, Novi Sad, Serbia
July 20 – Holy Pink Festival, Tilburg, Netherlands
August 1 – 3rd Wave Festival, Arena, Berlin, Germany
August 7 – Festival, Playa Villaricos, Spain
August 30 – Krankbrother@Shapes, Hackney Wick, London, United Kingdom
September 19 – Detroit Love@StageOne Festival, Brooklyn, United States

(via XLR8R)


Agoria announces release plans for Baptême


Agoria will release the Baptême EP via Kompakt on April 6th. 

The Lyon staple, who has been working with Hotflush and kicks off Innervisions’ upcoming Secret Weapons compilation, returns to Kompakt following his 2013 remix of Michael Mayer’s “Good Times.” “Baptême” has been doing the rounds online since last summer, possessing the deep melodicism which has made Agoria tracks a regular choice for Dixon, among others. On the B-side, Life and Death star DJ Tennis and Luke Jenner (formerly of The Rapture) contribute the “Lucky Blue Eyes Version,” with Agoria himself touching up the mix. Tennis and Jenner’s original version will be available as a digital bonus track. 

01. Baptême
02. Baptême (Lucky Blue Eyes Version/Agoria Retouch)

Kompakt will release Baptême on April 6th, 2015.

(via RA)