GDD™ Morning Update: Nicolas Jaar, Redlight, John Talabot, Matias Aguayo


Nicolas Jaar scores The Color Of Pomegranates
• Listen to Redlight’s Inaugural BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix
• DJ-Kicks reintroduces 12-inch series with John Talabot
• Listen to a New Track from Matias Aguayo‘s Upcoming 12″ Series


Nicolas Jaar scores The Color Of Pomegranates

Nicolas Jaar has composed an alternative score for The Color Of Pomegranates, a 1969 film written and directed by Sergei Parajanov.

The avant-garde classic is a biography of the Armenian troubadour Sayat Nova (King Of Song), following his life from childhood through death. Its powerful aesthetic and provocative imagery made it one of the most controversial films to come from the USSR, and it only saw release in western cinemas in 1982. Jaar’s 80-minute soundtrack, announced via Facebook on Sunday, February 22nd, features 20 songs and can be listened to in full, alongside the original film, below.

01. Garden of Eden
02. Construction
03. Pass the Time
04. Survival
05. The Fool and his Harem
06. Being and Nothingness
07. Near Death
08. Beasts of this Earth
09. Fall into Time
10. Folie à Deux
11. Screams at the Edge of Dawn
12. Divorce
13. Three windows
14. Touristas
15. Shame
16. Tower of Sin
17. Kapital
18. Volver
19. Spirit
20. Muse

(via RA)


Listen to Redlight’s Inaugural BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix


To tie into the release of new single ‘Gold Teeth’ today – a track championed by the likes of Annie Mac, Diplo, MistaJam and B-Traits – Redlight stepped into the spotlight to record his inaugural BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix for Pete Tong on Saturday night.

With tracks from a cast of some of UK dance music’s most mercurial talent – Mele, Mak & Pasteman, New York Transit Authority, Mella Dee, Paleman – sitting alongside a raft of exclusive material from Redlight himself, including first listens of two tracks taken from forthcoming artist album ‘X Colour’ and the exuberant, unmistakable swagger of ‘Gold Teeth’, it’s an Essential Mix of explosive verve and colour.

“With this mix, I really wanted to showcase new exclusive music and also some great music from artists who are working with me on my label Lobster Boy”, Redlight explains.  “Plus, there’s also a couple of versions of tracks I’ve made just for this mix and a few sneaky tracks from my upcoming album X COLOUR.”

Stream it here.

Redlight’s new single ‘Gold Teeth’ is also released today via Lobster Boy Recordings. Buy it here.


DJ-Kicks reintroduces 12-inch series with John Talabot


DJ-Kicks has reintroduced its 12-inch series, beginning with the John Talabot track “Without You.”

“Without You” first appeared on John Tabalot’s 2013 DJ-Kicksmix, and has never seen an official release. Due out March 23rd, it’ll arrive backed by remixes from Thomas Melchior as Melchior Productions Ltd, Oskar Offermann and Hivern Discs artist Mistakes Are Okay.

Overseen by !K7, DJ-Kicks is known primarily as a mix CD series—the most recent instalment came from Nina Kraviz. Though it’s been dormant for a couple of years, the 12-inch series has traditionally featured an exclusive track from the artist who compiled a DJ-Kicks mix.

Listen to the original version of “Without You” below.

01. Without You
02. Without You (Melchior Productions Ltd Sueno Sin Ti Remix)
03. Without You (Oskar Offermann Without Her Remix)
04. Without You (Mistakes Are Okay Midnight Version)

(via RA)


Listen to a New Track from Matias Aguayo’s Upcoming 12″ Series

Having announced plans to release a four-part 12″ series by the name of El Rudo Del Houselast month, longstanding dance music adventurer Matias Aguayo has now shared the series’ dark, clanking, but still deeply funky title track. In Aguayo’s own words, the El Rudo Del House series is based on an “imaginary creature who speaks to you with a pitched-down voice and produces heavy house rhythms that are engineered to directly trigger the movement of different body parts.” The resulting title track sounds precisely as one would hope the product of the above-described approach would, and can be streamed in full using the player above ahead of the release of the series’ first 12″ (appropriately titled Round One) on March 16 via Aguayo’s own Cómeme label.

(via XLR8R)