GDD™ Morning Update: John Frusciante, Shlohmo, Locked Groove/Mind Against, Lapalux


John Frusciante to release experimental acid house album
Shlohmo Announces Upcoming LP for True Panther/Wedidit; Hear the Lead Single Now
Locked Groove and Mind Against Team Up on New EP; Preview It Now
Lapalux returns with Lustmore


John Frusciante to release experimental acid house album

Acid Test will release a self-titled LP by John Frusciante on April 7th. 

Since RA elected Acid Test as label of the month in 2012, the vinyl-focused label has released 303-oriented dance music from Tin Man, Pépé Bradock and Achterbahn D’Amour. As such, the alliance with the former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist comes as a surprise, though less so in light of Frusciante’s involvement in the Speed Dealer Moms project, a collaboration with Aaron Funk (AKA Venetian Snares) released on Timesig in 2010. Frusciante’s solo guitar records, issued via Warner Brothers and its sub-label Record Collection, have built a cult following. The LA resident has also recently been producing for rap duo Black Knights. 

Frusciante describes his path to acid house in a letter included with the album.

“I started being serious about following my dream to make electronic music, and to be my own engineer, five years ago. For the 10 years prior to that, I had been playing guitar along with a wide range of different types of programmed synthesizer and sample-based music, emulating what I heard as best as I could. I found that the languages machines forced programmers to think in had caused them to discover a new musical vocabulary… 

In 2007, I started to learn how to program all the instruments we associate with acid house music and some other hardware. For about seven months I didn’t record anything. Then I started recording, playing 10 or so synced machines through a small mixer into a CD burner. This was all experimental acid house, my skills at making rock music playing no part in it whatsoever. I had lost interest in traditional songwriting and I was excited about finding new methods for creating music. I’d surround myself with machines, program one and then another and enjoy what was a fascinating process from beginning to end…”

The LP’s opening track, “After Below,” is streaming now. 

01. After Below
02. Before Above
03. Rainover
04. Sain
05. Exlam
06. 85h
07. 4:30
08. Phurip

Acid Test will release Trickfinger on April 7th, 2015.

(via RA)


Shlohmo Announces Upcoming LP for True Panther/Wedidit; Hear the Lead Single Now


After first announcing his new partnership with NYC label True Panther with the release of last year’s “Emerge from Smoke” single, Los Angeles beatmaker Henry Laufer (a.k.a.Shlohmo) has announced the details of his forthcoming second full-length record, Dark Red, which will drop via the imprint in April. A co-release with Laufer’s own Wediditcollective/label, the 11-track record is said to find Shlohmo continuing to craft gloomy, textured productions with shades of “’90s IDM, R&B, cassette-tape Jungle, and, in an unexpected turn, sludge metal.”

“It sounds like if Electric Wizard tried to make an R&B record,” Laufer himself explains in a press release, “or Boards of Canada meets Burzum by the River Styx.” Laufer goes on to further explain that he began recording the record after returning to Los Angeles and setting up a small studio in his apartment which was mostly stocked with an arsenal of ’80s-era gear originally owned by his father. Furthermore, Laufer was in a particular mental state during the recording of the album, saying, “I had just lost some people close to me and was dealing with another loved one’s health issues. I was all over the place mentally, and I think it reflects in this record whether I like it or not.” In the press release, the SoCal artist goes to explain that his one aim going into the record was to make it “loud… and not just loud but really really fucking loud. I wanted the sound of the thing to be devastating and violent.”

Helping us make sense of that description is “Buried,” the record’s lead single which sees wobbly melodies, scattered drums, and distorted, hand-played basslines rise from a bed of electronic noise. The seven-minute production can be streamed in full below, where the complete tracklist for Shlohmo’s Dark Red LP (out on April 7) has also been included; the man’s updated list of upcoming live tour dates can also be found below.

1. Ten Days of Falling
2. Meet Ur Maker
3. Buried
4. Emerge From Smoke
5. Slow Descent
6. Apathy
7. Relentless
8. Ditch
9. Remains
10. Fading
11. Beams


(via XLR8R)


Locked Groove and Mind Against Team Up on New EP; Preview It Now


Scuba‘s Hotflush label has today announced that it will release Elysium/Pulsar, the first collaborative effort between Belgian label mainstay Locked Groove and ascendant Italian pair Mind Against (who up to now have released exclusively through the Life & Deathimprint). The forthcoming two-track release looks to be a skillful melding of Locked Groove’s floor dynamics and Mind Against’s soaring atmospheres, with its lead track appearing to have sufficiently impressed Tale of Us enough for the outfit to feature “Elysium” prominently in its debut BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix over the weekend.

The first collaboration from former XLR8R podcast contributor Locked Groove and the Mind Against duo, Elysium/Pulsar, is set to land via Hotflush on February 9; both tracks can currently be previewed using the player below.

(via XLR8R)


Lapalux returns with Lustmore


Lapalux is gearing up to release his second full-length, Lustmore.

The new album will be released on Brainfeeder, the LA-based label that released the first Lapalux LP back in 2013. Around that time, Lapalux was the Flying Lotus-owned imprint’s only British signing. His early releases showcased a hazy, R&B-tinged sound very much at home on the famous US outpost. Judging by the track “Closure,” which is streaming below, it’s a style the Brit carries over onto Lustmore. The album is due out on April 7th. 

01. U Never Know feat. Andreya Triana
02. Sum Body
03. Closure feat. Szjerdene
04. Midnight Peelers
05. Push N’ Spun
06. We Lost
07. Autumn (Tape Interlude)
08. Puzzle feat. Andreya Triana
09. Bud
10. Don’t Mean A Thing
11. 1004
12. Make Money
13. Funny Game

Brainfeeder will release Lustmore on April 7th, 2015.

(via RA)