GDD™ Morning Update: Pearson Sound, Seven Davis Jr., Björk


Pearson Sound reveals full details of debut album
Seven Davis Jr. Preps New 12″ for Ninja Tune; Stream It Now
Björk announces new album, Vulnicura


Pearson Sound reveals full details of debut album

Hessle Audio will release Pearson Sound‘s debut album on March 9th.

The nine-track self-titled LP was recorded in 2013 and ’14. Speaking to RA about the production process, the Hessle Audio co-founder says: “I had a signal chain set up that I was really happy with, and I started sending my machines through the same processes. A lot of it was made by feeding the the same sounds between two different pieces of equipment and they’d end up feeding back between each other and snowballing. On some tracks it’s about harnessing that and taking it to the brink before it disintegrates, and some of them are about just letting it go full-blown out of control.”

In the years since his 2006 debut, Pearson Sound, real name David Kennedy, has established himself as one of the UK’s most inspired dance music artists. His run of singles as Pearson Sound, Ramadanman and Maurice Donovan helped reshape dubstep and blurred the lines between house, techno and bass music. News of his debut album first surfaced in November, when a Hessle Audio Facebook post teased the LP’s catalogue number: HESLP002.

Pearson Sound will be available on vinyl, CD and digital formats. Benji B will be premiering album cut “Glass Eye” on his BBC Radio 1 show at 1 AM GMT on Thursday, January 15th.

01. Asphalt Sparkle
02. Glass Eye
03. Gristle
04. Crank Call
05. Swill
06. Six Congas
07. Headless
08. Russet
09. Rubber Tree

Hessle Audio will release Pearson Sound on March 9th, 2015.

(via RA)


Seven Davis Jr. Preps New 12″ for Ninja Tune; Stream It Now


Los Angeles-based producer and vocalist Seven Davis Jr. is set to follow his impressive 2014 run (which landed him on our year-end Best New Aritsts list) with a new single for Ninja Tune, which will eventually be followed by the man’s debut full-length album later this year.

First, the Davis Jr.’s “Wild Hearts” b/w “Let Somebody Love You” single will land on February 9 via the label, offering two “delightfully disheveled, groove-ridden, catchy-as-hell nuggets” from the SoCal artist; ahead of its release, the record’s a-side cut can be streamed in full below. Along with news of the 12″, Ninja Tune has promised that Seven Davis Jr.’s debut LP will alo arrive sometime later this year, though no other details have been shared so far. In the meantime, the LA talent has a slew of UK and European tour dates lined up, all of which can be peeped beneath the player below.

January 17 Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide Awards 2015, Koko, London, UK
January 23 Tunnel, Mllan, Italy
January 24 Trädgården Under Bron, Stockholm, Sweden
January 30 Kerk, Ghent, Belgium
February 06 Abandon Silence, Manchester, UK
February 13 Kong, Munich, Germany
February 20 Cosmic Ballroom, Newcastle, UK
February 21 Corsica Studios, London, UK

Image by Eric Coleman

(via XLR8R)


Björk announces new album, Vulnicura


Björk‘s next album is called Vulnicura and it’ll see release in March 2015. 

As previously reported, the Icelandic artist has called on Arcaand The Haxan Cloak to help produce the record, which is her first since 2011’s Biophilia. Now, she’s posted an image on herFacebook page that reveals the album’s title, tracklist (see below) and release date: March 2015. The post also reveals that one song was co-written with John Flynn, AKA Spaces. The album was mixed down by The Haxan Cloak (with the help of Chris Elms on two tracks) and mastered by Mandy Parnell. 

01. Stonemilker
02. Lionsong
03. History of Touches
04. Black Lake
05. Family
06. Notget
07. Atom Dance
08. Mouth Mantra
09. Quicksand

Vulnicura will see release in March 2015.

(via RA)