GDD™ Morning Update: The Prodigy, Dirtybird, Floating Points/Four Tet


• The Prodigy Announce New Album Title, Release Date, and Track listing
Dirtybird celebrates ten years with compilation
• Download Floating Points‘ and Four Tet‘s Six-Hour Set for Plastic People


The Prodigy Announce New Album Title, Release Date, and Track listing

After teasing fans with some artwork for their forthcoming single ‘Nasty’ and hinting that the track would drop at some point in January, The Prodigy have announced that their 6th studio album will be titled ‘The Day Is My Enemy’ and will be released on March 30.

Last year Liam Howlett promised that the group’s first studio record since 2009’s ‘Invaders Must Die’ would be “pure violent energy” and the antithesis of “all that DJ bollocks and tutorials on YouTube shit.”

They also released a maniacal short film called ‘Can You Hear Me?’ by esteemed live music director Paul Dugdale, who worked with the group on their 2011 live album ‘Worlds On Fire’.

You can check out ‘Can You Hear Me?’ and view the track listing for ‘The Day Is My Enemy’ below.

1. The Day is My Enemy
2. Nasty
3. Rebel Radio
4. Ibiza feat. Sleaford Mods
5. Destroy
6. Wild Frontier
7. Rok-Weiler
8. Beyond the Deathray
9. Rhythm Bomb feat. Flux Pavilion
10. Roadblox
11. Get Your Fight On
12. Medicine
13. Invisible Sun
14. Wall Of Death

(via Mixmag)


Dirtybird celebrates ten years with compilation

Dirtybird will release a compilation to celebrate its tenth anniversary, due for release on January 27th.

Simply titled Dirtybird 10, the 14-track outing features new music from many of the label’s most famous contributors. Longstanding affiliate Justin Martin has the first track, teaming up with Iran-born producer Ardalan on “Function,” while BreachRiva StarrEats EverythingCatz ‘N Dogz and Worthy all pop up later. There’s plenty of newcomers too (Shiba SanSacha Robotti, Bruno Furlan), as well as an entry from head-honcho Claude VonStroke, who turns out a cut of typically floor-shaking house in “Big Ten.”

01. Justin Martin & Ardalan – Function Feat. PartyPatty
02. Claude VonStroke – Big Ten
03. Shawn Q – Hit That
04. Will Clarke – Badness
05. Sacha Robotti & Kevin Knapp – Thump Bumper
06. Shiba San  – I Can’t Remember
07. Jack Ward – Yoghurt
08. Breach & Oliver Dollar – Watch me Work
09. Eats Everything – Robots are Cooool
10. Riva Starr & Gene Farris – After Dark (Is When We Move)
11. Catz ‘n Dogz – Who Said It’s Time
12. Doorly – I Worked Hard For This Feat. Matty Pipes
13. Bruno Furlan – Blow Minutes
14. Worthy – So Delicious

Dirtybird will release Dirtybird 10 on January 27th, 2015.

(via RA)


Download Floating Points’ and Four Tet’s Six-Hour Set for Plastic People


Just as 2014 came to a close, influential London club Plastic People unexpectedlyannounced it would be closing its doors with one final party on January 2. Two artists who have held monthly residencies (along with Theo Parrish) throughout the club’s run, Floating Points‘ and Four Tet‘s (pictured above) six-hour set from Plastic People’s closing night celebration has now surfaced online.

Featuring a diverse collection of tracks, the set is said to cover “the anthems from our respective residencies” as well as songs that were in part crafted with Plastic People in mind (Daphni’s “Ye Ye” and Four Tet’s “Pinnacles” among them). Having traded off every two records, Floating Points and Four Tet touch on dusty soul and jazz, Brazilian grooves, and bits of soulful house and disco throughout, weaving in a few tracks of their own into the session as well, with Floating Points’ “Vacuum Boogie” and Four Tet’s “Love Cry” finding their way into the mix.

The pair’s full six-hour homage to the UK institution that was Plastic People can be streamed in full below and downloaded here. In addition, Floating Points’ and Four Tet’s joint statement on the role Plastic People played in their musical formation has also been included below.

Over the past eight years or so we have had, along with Theo Parrish, the honor of playing the monthly residencies at a small basement club in Shoreditch, London with an impeccable sound system. After 20 years of operation, it was time to move on and close the doors on a place that has a lot to answer for in shaping modern club culture. To say this space along with the owner Ade’s singular vision was fundamental in our personal musical formation would be a complete understatement.

On the day of their closing, manager Charlotte asked us if we’d put the system through its paces for the last time that the club would be open to the public. We set about packing the anthems from our respective residencies and on the night once the people were through the doors played 2 records in turn for the rest of the dance. We included tracks of our own and of friends that were made with that place in mind. Records like Daphni “Ye Ye” and Four Tet “Pinnacles” were made to first be played at Kieran’s nights there, and the Floating Points ‘Vacuum’ EP was born out of the CD-R night at the club, and its launch party was the trigger for Sam’s monthly residency.

We set this recording up just before the start of the night and unfortunately it distorts in places, but we make no apology for how joyfully noisy people get! The vibe in the room this night was typical of the club on any given night and we hope this recording captures just a fraction of the spirit of a Plastic People night.

A massive thank you from us to everyone that has come down to the nights over the years and supported our music there. We are truly humbled to have shared the music we love with people at this place, and your energy in turn has influenced the way we make music on an unfathomable scale. We also thank the bosses Charlotte Kepel and Ade Fakile for inviting us to the club and having faith in us over these years! All the best for the future!

See you in the dance.

Much Love,
Sam & Kieran

(via XLR8R)