GDD™ Morning Update: Caribou, Hot Since 82, Mark Seven


• Check Out Caribou‘s ‘Essential Mix’ for BBC Radio 1
Hot Since 82 is Knee Deep In Sound
Mark Seven to release Far Away mixtape


Check Out Caribou’s ‘Essential Mix’ for BBC Radio 1

Over the weekend, London-based Canadian Dan Snaith (a.k.a. Caribou) became the latest contributor to BBC Radio 1’s venerable Essential Mix series. The two-hour session is a characteristically diverse one from the artist who also DJs/produces under the name Daphni, with cuts from the likes of Joy Orbison & Boddika, Butric, and Pearson Sound rubbing up against tracks by James Brown, Lil Wayne, and the Silver Apples. Snaith also includes two previously unheard Daphni productions in the set, lending an already intriguing mix some extra exclusive cache.

Caribou’s Essential Mix can be streamed in full here, where a full tracklist for the set can also be found. In addition, our recent Rewind session with the accomplished artist—which found Caribou, in his own words, looking back at his entire discography—can be read here.

(via XLR8R)


Hot Since 82 is Knee Deep In Sound


Hot Since 82 is set to drop his new mix compilation, Knee Deep In Sound, on November 17th via his label of the same name andUltra Records

The LP features a number of artists from Daley Padley’s own label, including MoodtrapExacta and Traumer. It also has four new Hot Since 82 tracks and access to a download of his new track “Womb,” which you can stream below. The mix follows a busy year for the DJ and producer, whose most recent single, “Somebody Somebody,” featured the early-’90s crossover act Block Box. You can catch him on the road in the US and Mexico throughout October and November, starting off at Chicago’sSpybar on the 30th, followed by gigs in LA, New York and DC, before heading to Mexico for three dates from November 13th through the 24th. 

01. Moodtrap – Lemonhead
02. Kamero – Ikarus
03. Exacta – Time
04. Hot Since 82 – Time Out
05. Several Definitions – No Drama
06. Ross Evans – HoneyTrap
07. The Scumfrog – Wave2
08. Exacta – Home
09. Traumer – Hoodlum
10. Joal – Interlude
11. Hot Since 82 ft. Alex Mills – The Core
12. Hot Since 82 ft. Black Box – Somebody Everybody
13. Hot Since 82 ft. Alex Mills – Restless

Knee Deep In Sound and Ultra will release Knee Deep In Sound on November 17th, 2014.

United States of America Oct 30  Knee Deep In Chicago: Hot Since 82 & L.., Spybar, Illinois
United States of America Oct 31  Escape: All Hallow’s Eve, San Bernardino, Los Angeles
United States of America Nov 01  Hot Since 82/ Exacta with Psychemagik, Output, New York
United States of America Nov 05  Hot Since 82 with Ch.., U Street Music Hall, Washington DC
United States of America Nov 08  Inception presents Hot Since 8.., Exchange LA, Los Angeles
Mexico Nov 13  Hot Since 82 — 8th Anniversary, Hardpop, North
Mexico Nov 14  Hot Since 82, TBA – Mexico City, Center
Italy Nov 22  Hot Since 82@Room26, Room 26, Central

(via RA)


Mark Seven to release Far Away mixtape


Parkway Records boss Mark Seven has recorded a Far Away mixtape, due out October 25th. 

Venerated as a record collector and proprietor of the ‘Jus Wax store for some time, Seven’s stature as a producer and record label proprietor has grown recently. He released the well-received My Caesar 10-inch on People Just Jam this past spring, as well as a Pal Joey-flavored 12-inch under the name Ray’s Keys on his own Parkwest imprint earlier this month. 

He’ll visit Los Angeles for a one-off extended set on October 25th. This will be his second visit to LA, and the gig will act as a release show for his entry in the Far Away mixtape series. The cassette label releases mixes to compliment the party series of the same name. Mike Simonetti and Jacques Renault have contributed thus far. For those not in Los Angeles, the cassettes are available via Mount Analog, Pacific Rhythm and Public Possession. 

You can stream Renault’s Far Away mixtape below. 

Far Away will release Mark Seven Far Away Tapes 003 on October 25th, 2014.

(via RA)