GDD™ Morning Update: Axwell /\ Ingrosso, Machinedrum, Jeff Mills


Axwell /\ Ingrosso Sign Exclusive Contract with Universal Music
Machinedrum Readies New Album for Ninja Tune
• Watch a Short Documentary with Jeff Mills

Axwell /\ Ingrosso Sign Exclusive Contract with Universal Music

The duo Axwell /\ Ingrosso have signed an exclusive contract with Universal Music. Their music will be released by Def Jam Recordings in the U.S. and Virgin/EMI in the UK.

Steve Bartels, CEO of Def Jam Recordings, is excited to be working with the group. “We are proud at Def Jam to have Axwell /\ Ingrosso choose us to be their label home,” he said. “Their music is forward, innovative, invigorating and boundless. Def Jam has the artistry and energy of DJ culture within its pedigree, right there in our logo. This is a significant moment for all of us as at Def Jam.”

Swedish House Mafia, Axwell and Ingrosso’s previous project, began in 2007. Although they never released a studio album, they sold over 10 million records worldwide. “Don’t You Worry” featuring John Martin was a No. 6 hit on the Hot 100. After Swedish House Mafia broke up in March of 2013, two of the three members formed the new group. They debuted songs on BBC in March and again his summer at Governor’s Ball.

Axwell /\ Ingrosso plans to release their debut album in early 2015.

(via Billboard)


Machinedrum Readies New Album for Ninja Tune

Machinedrum has shared details of a new album due out this November, which will bring his conceptual Vapor City project to a close. The US producer born Travis Stewart initiated the project last year with Vapor City, his debut LP for Ninja Tune and 10th studio full-length, and has since delivered a clutch of EPs, remixes, and other types of content based around the fictional metropolis. According to Juno Plus, the forthcomingVapor City Archives will present new material that amalgamates footwork and jungle when it arrives on November 17. In the meantime, clips for each of the album’s 10 tracks (posted with its artwork below) can be previewed via Ninja Tune’s website, and album cut “Only 1 Way 2 Know” has been made available to stream in full here.

01. Boxoff
02. Safed
03. Hard 2 Be
04. Only 1 Way 2 Know
05. Vizion (Centered)
06. B Patient
07. More Than Friends
08. Tried & True
09. 2 B Luvd
10. Endless <3
(via XLR8R)


Watch a Short Documentary with Jeff Mills

A new mini-documentary with Jeff Mills has been made available to stream, which takes an in-depth look at the Detroit techno icon’s Time Tunnel residency at Paris club, La Machine du Moulin Rouge. As Mills discusses in the video, his Time Tunnel shows are conceptualized around a time/space spiral, which transports listeners from the music of the past —from Kraftwerk in the early ’70s to the raves and acid of the following decade—into the sounds of a possible future in the year 4067. The series was inaugurated in 2012 to commemorate the 20th anniversary of his Axis label, and will reportedly go on tour starting in November, with dates planned for France, London, and Berlin. The 18-minute video was published by French magazine Trax in collaboration with the La Fumée collective, and can be watched in full above.

(via XLR8R)