GDD™ Morning Update: Apollonia, Aphex Twin, Dirtybird


Apollonia present debut album, Tour à Tour
• Listen to the First Single from Aphex Twin‘s ‘Syro’ LP
dirtybird Wraps Up Its BBQ Series With Its Biggest Lineup Ever HARD Day of the Dead, November 2nd


Apollonia present debut album, Tour à Tour

Apollonia, AKA Dan GhenaciaDyed Soundorom and Shonky, will release their debut album, Tour à Tour, on October 20th. 

The album’s title, which roughly translates as “to take turns,” or “alternate,” is a nod to Apollonia’s back-to-back-to-back DJing style. The trio say it “represents the idea of a continuous motion of music between us; a never-ending circle that flows and becomes hypnotic.” They add: “Our album represents the way we approach our DJ performance—there is a unity between us and we work like one artist. The music we play holds no boundaries of time, respecting music old and new.” 

Tour à Tour was recorded in Berlin earlier this year and mixed down by Alexkid and Cassius‘s Philippe Zdar. They’ll self-release the album through their own Apollonia label. Founded in 2012, the imprint has released one Apollonia single—2013’s Trinidad—alongside material from individual members of the trio and records from US house heads like Kerri Chandler and Jovonn. 

The video for album cut “The Benshee” is streaming below. 

01. Intro
02. June
03. Mouche tsé tsé
04. Sona
05. Piano
06. Chez Michel
07. Mercato
08. Interlude
09. Un Vrai Portugais
10. Boomerang
11. The Benshee
12. El senor vador
13. Haight Street

Apollonia will release Tour à Tour on October 20th, 2014.

(via RA)


Listen to the First Single from Aphex Twin’s ‘Syro’ LP


The first piece of audio to surface from Aphex Twin‘s forthcoming Syro LP for Warp has at last arrived. Serving as the the upcoming album‘s lead track, “minipops 67 [120.2][source field mix]” finds the pioneering producer sounding as unclassifiable as ever, with constantly evolving rhythms combining with rich chords, uncanny vocal manipulations, and a series of sublime melodic sequences.

Appearing via Warp’s official YouTube page, the full stream of Aphex Twin’s “minipops 67 [120.2][source field mix]” can be heard below; Syro is slated to land on September 23.

(via XLR8R)


dirtybird Wraps Up Its BBQ Series With Its Biggest Lineup Ever – HARD Day of the Dead, November 2nd



dirtybird is closing it’s legendary 2014 BBQ series in SoCal with a BANG!
Working alongside long-time brothers-in-arms HARD has enabled the dirtybird crew to assemble its biggest lineup to date.  Taking over a dedicated stage at HARD’s Day Of The Dead on Nov 2nd, the dirtybird crew will be serving up their signature brand of house music and family vibes from noon to 11pm. dirtybird’s own original grillmaster – the legendary Grillson – will also be onsite, dishing out classic dirtybird BBQ recipes all day long.
dirtybird was founded around a grill in San Francisco’s Golden Gate Park many years ago, and the ethos underpinning the label has remained the same ever since – good times, good people, good food, and above all, good jams. This past March, dirtybird released their first BBQ themed compilation featuring the number #1 house record on Beatport for over 10 weeks, Shiba San’s “Okay”. This dirtybird stage at HARD Day of The Dead is your chance to catch the entire crew on the decks for a truly unique festival experience.
If that wasn’t enough, dirtybird has invited along one of their biggest inspirations to the join the stage – the endlessly innovative music icon Cajmere!

So smack those lips LA, and get ready to move those hips – dirtybird is coming for you!

More BBQ Info here:

Buy Tickets for HARD Day of the Dead here.