GDD™ Morning Update: Flying Lotus, Anna Lunoe, DJ Shadow, The Juan Maclean


Flying Lotus has revealed his album tracklist and it’s looking huge
Anna Lunoe Announces North American ‘All Out Fall Out’ Headlining Club Tour
DJ Shadow launches Liquid Amber, gives away free track
The Juan MacLean Shares New Track from Upcoming LP for DFA


Flying Lotus has revealed his album tracklist and it’s looking huge

Last month, fans rejoiced when Flying Lotus announced the impending release of his fifth album, You’re Dead! Ahead of its drop date on October 7, the LA beatmaker shared the LP tracklisting and some seriously cool artwork.

“Finally! So much went into this one. Lots of talented artists helped realize this vision. Looking forward to sharing details and music soon,” he hinted late last month, and he delivered big-time.

The LA beatmaker started sharing the tracklisting – which can be viewed below – via Tumblr this morning, revealing that jazz legend Herbie Hancock and rappers Snoop Dogg, Kendrick Lamar and FlyLo’s alter-ego, Captain Murphy are all on board. Each track-title reveal also came with its own reinterpretation done by talented Japanese artist Shintaro Kago.

As for the actual sound of the album, Flying Lotus told fans on Twitter earlier this year that the album would be “heavy on prog vibes,” and of his pulling inspiration from the music of artists like Queen, Pink Floyd, Matthewdavid and Actress.

Check out the tracklist and a sample of the artwork for You’re Dead! below. For the rest of the images revealed this morning, head on over to Flying Lotus’ Tumblr.

You’re Dead! tracklisting:

1. Theme
2. Tesla ft. Herbie Hancock
3. Cold Dead
4. Fkn Dead
5. Never Catch Me ft. Kendrick Lamar
6. Dead Man’s Tetris ft. Snoop Dogg & Captain Murphy
7. Turkey Dog Coma
8. Stirring
9. Coronus, the Terminator
10. Siren Song ft. Angel Deradoorian
11. Turtles
12. Ready Err Not

(via inthemix)


Anna Lunoe Announces North American ‘All Out Fall Out’ Headlining Club Tour


In the last few years Anna Lunoe has not stopped moving. Whether traveling around the world thrilling club and festival crowds, collaborating with and lending vocals to some of the freshest names in dance music, writing her own productions, or simply busting trademark moves in front of the decks, Anna embodies an energy sought by many but achieved by few. Her forthcoming ‘All Out Fall Out’ headlining club tour should give North America another glimpse at what makes this Aussie transplant one of electronic music’s most interesting multi-hyphenates.

 ‘All Out’ is the lead single from Anna’s forthcoming EP (Ultra Music). A sumptuous summer jam, ‘All Out’ hits like a breath of fresh air, replete with some serious house and two-step underpinnings. The track is a statement of intent, Anna’s upcoming EP is a forthright and honest glimpse at an artist unafraid to imbue her music with personality and emotion. On ‘All Out’ Anna steps outside the comforting anonymity of the dancefloor in order to tell her story.

 Earlier this year Anna released her massive single ‘B.D.D.’ on Skrillex’s Nest imprint, a slab of late-night dance-floor mayhem, it immediately became the label’s most listened to release to date, garnering support from the likes of Diplo, RL Grime, DJ Snake, Clockwork and many more. She’s also found the time to lend her talents to collabs with TEED, AC Slater, Treasure Fingers, The Alexanders (Alex Metric & Yuksek), with more on the horizon.

 The forthcoming ‘All Out’ tour caps a hectic 12 months of gigging for Lunoe, who’s made stops at Coachella, Lollapalooza, Electric Forest, Splash House and supported The Weeknd. Her monthly Luney Tunes podcast, a homage to her previous career as a radio host, features live sets from her gigs and is a great way to follow Anna’s adventures. Click HERE to listen to Anna’s newest episode of Luney Tunes, a preview of what she’s got cooking for her set at Decibel Festival September 25th in Seattle.

The ‘All Out Fall Out’ tour kicks off Sept 13th, and will be a wild ride of pure energy and inventiveness where Anna is curating each night with the best local talent. Fans can see Anna hit Decibel Festival, and club locales like Bardot, Sound, Bang Bang, Q and more.


DJ Shadow launches Liquid Amber, gives away free track



DJ Shadow has revealed details of a new label called Liquid Amber. 

The first record, The Liquid Amber EP, came out on August 12th and features two new tracks from Shadow alongside a remix of his 2002 cut “Six Days” from Machinedrum

“This single/EP serves as the opening salvo in what I hope is a long string of music, by myself and others, on my new imprint,” says DJ Shadow. “The first release will feature some of my own songs, and soon, if everything falls into place, I’ll be putting out other people’s music as well. It’ll be primarily digital, with some physical releases from time to time… whatever feels right. I’m going to try to keep it low-key and fun.” You can stream the EP below, and grab a free download of “Ghost Town” here

01. Ghost Town
02. Mob
03. Six Days (Machinedrum Remix)

Liquid Amber release The Liquid Amber EP on August 12th, 2014.

(via RA)


The Juan MacLean Shares New Track from Upcoming LP for DFA



A mainstay of DFA‘s roster, The Juan MacLean have shared a synth-streaked new track from its upcoming third full-length for the label. “A Simple Design” is set to appear towards the end of the forthcoming In a Dream LP (out September 15), its disco bounce filled out by a lush array of analog synth lines and layers of catchy vocal hooks, courtesy of the group’s longtime vocalist Nancy Whang. For many though, the real prize of “A Simple Design” arrive right around the four-minute mark, when a playful, gliding synth solo goes on to commandeer the track’s latter half. The Juan MacLean’s latest effort can be streamed in full below.

(via XLR8R)