GDD™ Morning Update: Kompakt, Two Fresh, Leon Vynehall, Ghostly


Kompakt due to release new TB-303 inspired EP
Two Fresh‘s Blimpus EP is out now on SMOG Records
Leon Vynehall Shares Mesmerizing New Video, Announces North American Tour
Ghostly Artists Soundtrack Upcoming Videogame; Hear New Tracks from Shigeto, Matthew Dear, and More


Kompakt due to release new TB-303 inspired EP

Cologne-based record label Kompakt has unveiled its 303th release, deciding on a no-holds-barred celebration of aciiiiiiiiiiiiiiiid.

Paying homage to the Roland TB-303 bass synthesizer, the EP titled ‘Instant 303′ has been produced by Wolfgang Voigt and will be released on August 15 this year.

With releases from Maceo PlexDauwdKölschKaito and more, Kompakt have secured themselves a catalogue of well-respected electronic music and a well rounded-exploration of 303 sounds is to be expected.

(via Mixmag)


Two Fresh’s Blimpus EP is out now on SMOG Records


Composed of twin brothers Kendrick and Sherwyn Nicholls, Two Fresh’s sound seamlessly incorporates elements of sampling, a booming low end and catchy synth lines. Their ‘Blimpus’ EP is out July 29 on SMOG Records with remixes from Starkey, Lil Texas, and Atlantic Connection.   

Kicking off the EP, “Shotta” begins on a future bass tip, welcoming a harmonious range of synths. The track then breaks down to a half time beat, layering a wash of melodic strings, tropical pianos and a hint of jungle-laced snares. “Blimpus” follows, with rhythmic percussion and synth pads that fluctuate in both sonics and texture, but still keeping the release’s warm, luscious aesthetic. Leading with a bright, syncopated piano lick, the sounds of summer continue on with “To The Top.” Based around an eight-measure melody, the track builds on the simple concept with a triumphant chorus of chords. 

On the flip side, the remixes give this release an extra jolt of freshness. Starkey injects his signature grit and glitch to “Blimpus,” giving it more of a darker, sinister appeal. Lil Texas brings the lush, garage vibes with hints of house and trap throughout his remix of “Blimpus.” And bringing the EP to a close is Atlantic Connection’s tempo-pushing edit of “Shotta” and his tech funk snares along with ‘90s pianos that may have you thinking the track was made in jungle, then dipped in rave.  

Two Fresh has amassed serious momentum between extensive touring with artists like Skrillex, Nit Grit, and 12th Planet and performing at a slew of music festivals including Coachella, Electric Daisy Carnival, Moogfest, SXSW, Dew Tour, Bumbershoot, DEMF, Starscape, Wakarusa, and Camp Bisco. 


Leon Vynehall Shares Mesmerizing New Video, Announces North American Tour


Following the release of his surprise 12″ for Clone’s Royal Oak series earlier this month,Leon Vynehall has shared a mesmerizing new video for a-side cut “Butterflies,” along with news of an upcoming North American tour.

Joining the breezy piano and easy swing of Vynehall’s tune is a collage of computer-rendered butterflies which spiral in kaleidoscope-like patterns as they delicately morph between a series of pastoral colors. Said to have been directed by up-and-coming visual artist Nryn, the clip aims to create “a feeling of hypnosis, constant rotation and repetition, building toward euphoric moments.” The full video for “Butterflies” can be watched below, where Vynehall’s upcoming North American tour dates for the month of August can also be found.

August 9 – MoMA PS1 Warm Up, MoMA PS1, New York w/ George Fitzgerald & Martyn
August 9 – Blkmarket Membership, Secret Location, New York w/ George Fitzgerald
August 10 – Piknik Elektronik, Parc Jean-Drapeau, Montreal
August 14 – Evening Standard, Bambi’s, Toronto
August 16 – Swimming With Sharks, Standard Hotel Rooftop, Los Angeles w/ Detroit Swindle
August 16 – The Looney Lau, Monarch, San Francisco w/ Detroit Swindle

(via XLR8R)


Ghostly Artists Soundtrack Upcoming Videogame; Hear New Tracks from Shigeto, Matthew Dear, and More



The Ghostly artist roster has been tapped to soundtrack Hohokum, an upcoming videogame which makes it possible for players to “take on the role of a flying, colorful kite-like being.” Naturally, cuts from Shigeto, Tycho, Matthew Dear, and others are included in the collection, which will see a digital and vinyl release in the coming weeks.

Amongst the soundtrack’s selections are previously released efforts from regulars of the Ghostly staple such as Tycho, Com Truise, Osborne, and Christopher Willits, whose “Reticent Reminiscence” collaboration with Ryuchi Sakamoto (an innovative Japanese pianist and composer whose recent throat cancer diagnosis has temporarily halted his creative efforts) is included. In addition, new productions from Shigeto, Matthew Dear, Ben Benjamin, Geoff White, and Michna have also been commissioned to soundtrack the upcoming PlayStation game.

Ghostly’s full soundtrack for Hohokum can be streamed below, where the full tracklist for the collection’s digital release (out on August 12) and vinyl release (our on October 28) can also be found. Those interested in seeing how the music and gameplay are set to interact can check out trailers for Hohokum here.

Digital Tracklist:
01 Tycho – L
02 Matthew Dear – Pawn In Their Game *
03 Shigeto – Lamp Lighting *
04 Com Truise – Declination (instrumental)
05 KILN – Lux (rpf Rebuild)
06 Willits + Sakamoto – Reticent Reminiscence
07 Tycho – A Walk
08 Michna – Emerald Plateaus *
09 Geoff White – Wedding Party *
10 Osborne – Mount Arvon
11 Ben Benjamin – Air Parsing *
12 Tycho – Coastal Brake
13 KILN – Sunsethighway
14 Heathered Pearls – Raising Our Ashes
15 Michna – The Best Way Out Is Through *
16 Ben Benjamin – Temporary Aztec
17 Tycho – Send and Receive
18. Michna – Increasing Ambition *
19 Jacaszek – As Each Tucked String Tells
20 KILN – Desertkarnival (rua Rebuild)
21 Joel Corelitz – We Run In Tunnels
22 Shigeto – Super Secret End Credits *

Vinyl Tracklist:
01 Tycho – L
02 Matthew Dear – Pawn In Their Game *
03 Osborne – Mount Arvon
04 Geoff White – Wedding Party *
05 Michna – Increasing Ambition *
06 Ben Benjamin – Air Parsing *
07 Shigeto – Lamp Lighting *
* = exclusive to this release

(via XLR8R)