GDD™ Morning Update: Joy Orbison, Erol Alkan, Nick Monaco


• Listen to Joy Orbison‘s Radio 1 Essential Mix
Erol Alkan mixes Fabriclive 77
Nick Monaco to release debut album in September


Listen to Joy Orbison’s Radio 1 Essential Mix

London techno boss goes heavy on the mystery tracks and white labels.

Joy Orbison was at the controls for the latest BBC Radio 1Essential Mix, delivering brand new music from James Blake and Pearson Sound as well as a handful of unknown tracks to get you guessing and some bits and pieces from his own Hinge Finger label – including, it seems, a forthcoming Hinge Finger single by Junior Boys’ Jeremy Greenspan.

Stream it over at BBC iPlayer or download it via Core News, and view the tracklist below.

We’ve seen plenty of quality from the Essential Mix in recent months, including sessions from Jackmaster & OnemanKiNK,Marcel DettmannBonobo and MK.

Tom Ellard – Anthem 82 [Vinyl-On-Demand]
Unknown – Untitled
Bobby McFerrin – Thinkin’ Bout Your Body (ID Edit)
Lady Blacktronika Pres. Bailey Jemille – Gettin’ Heavy (Jordan Fields Re-Edit)
Unknown – Untitled
Jeremy Greenspan & Borys – But Wait There’s More [Hinge Finger – Forthcoming]
Caltrop – Lenny [W.T.]
James Blake – Untitled [1-800 Dinosaur – Forthcoming]
Bruce – Not Stochastic [Hessle – Forthcoming]
Austin Cesear – The Groove [Public Information]
Jackson Lee – Persistence [Mystical Disco]
Microworld – Big Band [Styrax Leaves]
Jackson Lee – Three Mile Island [Mystical Disco]
Kowton – Glock & Roll [Unreleased]
The KVB – I Only See The Lights (Shifted Version) [Cititrax]
Gadi Mizrahi – I’ll Set Your House [Wolf + Lamb]
Tames – Squeeze [Galdoors]
Percussions – No Swimming Class [Unreleased]
Barnt – Under His Own Name But Also As Sir [Hinge Finger – Forthcoming]
Barnt – Chappell [Hinge Finger – Forthcoming]
Detromental – Rewind [Rave]
Unknown – Untitled
Joy Orbison – Zoo Talking
Morgan Packard & Jay Patrick Ahern – La Pura Vida [Modular Cowboy]
Boddika & Joy Orbison – In Here [Sunklo]
Voiski – Every Cloud Collision [Syncrophone]
Merle – Fannie Likes 2 Dance [Christabel]
Endian – Untitled
Four Tet – Buchla (Seven Davis Jr. Remix) [Text]
Mike Ink – Playing With Knives [Kompakt]
Roman Flügel – Pattern 7 [Ongaku Musik]
Pearson Sound – Thaw Cycle [Unreleased]
Front 242 – Body 2 Body (2 Trax) (Edit)
Smith ‘N’ Hack – Falling Stars [Smith N Hack]

(via FACT)


Erol Alkan mixes Fabriclive 77


Erol Alkan has mixed the 77th edition in the Fabriclive series. 

The Phantasy Sound head is one of London’s most respected DJs, with the influence of his Trash night in the late ’90s and early ’00s still lingering. His selection features a sprinkling of tracks from Phantasy artists (including Chemical Brothers member Tom Rowlands), and labels like Running Back, L.I.E.S., Delsin and Cómeme. The mix finishes with Alkan playing off one of his own tracks, “A Hold On Love,” against Saint Etienne’s “Only Love Can Break Your Heart.” 

“I certainly didn’t want this mix to be a flyer or advert for me as a DJ,” Alkan says. “I feel this mix is quite specific to fabric as they are all records I would want to play in that environment.” He adds: “Even though I have had the benefit of playing all three rooms on a regular basis, this mix feels like it was designed for Room One. It’s influenced by the sight lines from the perspective behind the decks, the lights, the fact that sometimes all you can see are hands reaching into the booth, as well as those behind you dancing alone in the corners.” 

The Fabriclive 77 launch party will take place at fabric on Friday, September 12th, with Rub N Tug, The Emperor Machine and Dark Circles joining Alkan in Room One. 

01. Maurice & Charles – Sofa Love (Jamie Paton Remix)
02. Cowboy Rhythmbox – We Got The Box
03. Carisma – Talento Matemático
04. The Emperor Machine – RMI Is All I Want (Erol Alkan’s Extended Rework)
05. Manfredas – Square Lights (Zongamin Remix Take 2)
06. Phreak – Acid On
07. Erol Alkan – Sub Conscious
08. Andre Bratten – Trommer og Bass
09. Tom Rowlands – Through Me
10. Fumes – Jack2000
11. Victor Shan – How You Want It (Shan’s Warehouse Version)
12. Boot & Tax – Acido
13. Erol Alkan – Bang
14. Ben Jenkins – K3M
15. Todd Osborn – Put Your Weight On It (Chicago Mix)
16. Voiski – From White To Red
17. Claro Intelecto – Tone
18. Ghost Culture – Red Smoke
19. Daywalker + CF – Supersonic Transport
20. Erol Alkan – A Hold On Love + Saint Etienne – Only Love Can Break Your Heart

Fabric Records will release Fabriclive 77 on September 22nd, 2014.

(via RA)


Nick Monaco to release debut album in September


Nick Monaco is due to release his debut album in September.

‘Mating Call’ will be released via Soul Clap Records, following a string of EPs on the imprint including ‘Naked Is My Nature’ and ‘The Stalker’.

The first track from the album online is ‘Private Practice’, which can be streamed here while the tracklist can be seen below.

01. Mating Call
02. BabyFace
03. Ancient Ritual feat. Brandon Cain
04. Private Practice
05. I Can’t Breathe Without You
06. Brooklyn Is A Submarine feat. Slow Hands
07. Maintenance Man
08. TooHighToDrive
09. She Got That Fire
10. Freak Flag

(via Mixmag)