GDD™ Morning Update: ODESZA, Crosstown Rebels, Simian Mobile Disco


ODESZA announces new album, In Return, out September 9th on Counter Records
Crosstown Rebels Announce Day Zero 2015 – Watch Day Zero Rebel Rave Film
• Watch the video for Simian Mobile Disco‘s ‘Tangents’


ODESZA announces new album, In Return, out September 9th on Counter Records

Over the past 18 months, Seattle producer duo ODESZA (Harrison Mills, Clayton Knight) has rapidly ascended to the top of their class. Accruing listens online, selling out shows and packing out festival crowds, ODESZA has won fans through the stereo and from the stage. They’ve racked up 10 Hype Machine #1s, over 16 million SoundCloud streams, over 7.5 million Spotify plays and a sold out U.S. headline tour this spring. They’ve performed at numerous festivals including Coachella, Sasquatch, Lightning In A Bottle, Osheaga, Shambhala, What The Festival, Summer Meltdown, Decibel Festival, The Hudson Project and Symbiosis Gathering, and shared stages with Pretty Lights, Bonobo, Emancipator, and Star Slinger.

Today, ODESZA proudly unveils their brand new album, In Return, to be released Sept. 9th on Counter Records (a Ninja Tune imprint). In Return more than delivers on the promise of ODESZA’s previous work. A record with a precocious maturity and coherence, it’s a start-to-finish stunner of pop-infused, electronic wonder, littered with infectious hooks and potent atmosphere. Vocal performances from Zyra, Py, Shy Girls, and Madelyn Grant, who is featured on the previously released hit, “Sun Models,” are expertly worked into ODESZA’s trademark, mood-altering uplift. In Return is available now for pre-order at where fans can purchase vinyl, CD and mp3/WAVs for the first time ever. The new track, “Memories That You Call (feat. Monsoonsiren),” premiered via Noisey, is available to stream and download via the pre-order. ODESZA will tour in support of In Return throughout the fall playing their largest headline gigs yet with shows already selling out over two months in advance. A new live performance has been developed to accompany In Return – ensuring that the shows will do full justice to the album.


1. Always This Late
2. Say My Name (feat. Zyra)
3. Bloom
4. All We Need (feat. Shy Girls)
5. Sundara
6. White Lies (feat. Jenni Potts)
7. Kusanagi
8. Echoes (feat. Py)
9. It’s Only (feat. Zyra)
10. Koto
11. Memories That You Call (feat. Monsoonsiren)
12. Sun Models (feat. Madelyn Grant)
13. For Us (feat. Briana Marela)

Sat. July 19 – Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre (Global Dance Festival)
Sun. July 20 – Piercy, CA @ Cooks Valley Campground (Northern Nights Festival)
Fri. July 25 – Seattle, WA @ Capitol Hill Block Party (Mainstage)
Sat. July 26 – Kelowna, BC @ Kelowna’s City Park (Center of Gravity Festival)
Sun. July 27 – Chicago, IL @ Wicker Park Fest (South Stage)
Fri. Aug. 1 – Montreal, QC @ Parterre Parc Jean (Osheaga – Piknik Electronick Stage)
Sun. Aug. 3 – Belden, CA @ Stilldream Festival (Headliner)
Fri. Aug. 8 – Tidewater, OR @ Tidewater Falls (Beloved Festival)
Sun. Aug. 10 – Salmo, BC @ Salmo River Ranch (Shambhala Music Festival – The Grove)
Thu. Sept. 18 – San Francisco, CA @ Mezzanine*
Fri. Sept. 19 – San Francisco, CA @ Mezzanine* (SOLD OUT)
Sat. Sept. 20 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda Theatre*
Sun. Sept. 21 – Solana Beach, CA @ Belly Up Tavern*
Tue. Sept. 23 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom*
Thu. Sept. 25 – Austin, TX @ Vulcan Gas Company*
Fri. Sept. 26 – Dallas, TX @ Trees (Index Festival)*
Sat. Sept. 27 – New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jacks*
Tue. Sept. 30 – Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall*
Wed. Oct. 1 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s*
Thu. Oct. 2 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom*
Fri. Oct. 3 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg*
Sat. Oct. 4 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair*
Mon. Oct. 6 – Toronto, ON @ The Mod Club Theater*
Wed. Oct. 8 – Ann Arbor, MI @ Blind Pig*
Thu. Oct. 9 – Columbus, OH @ The Basement*
Sat. Oct. 11 – Madison, WI @ Majestic Theater*
Sun. Oct. 12 – Minneapolis, MN @ Triple Rock Social Club*
Wed. Oct. 15 – St. Louis, MO @ Firebird*
Thu. Oct. 16 – Lawrence, KS @ Bottleneck*
Fri. Oct. 17 – Lincoln, NE @ Vega*
Sun. Oct. 19 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge*
Tue. Oct. 21 – Vancouver, BC @ Venue*
Wed. Oct. 22 – Vancouver, BC @ Venue*
Sat. Oct. 25 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom*

*w/Ambassadeurs, Hayden James


Crosstown Rebels Announce Day Zero 2015 – Watch Day Zero Rebel Rave Film


On the cusp of entering its twelfth year since formation, Crosstown Rebels’ mind-expanding and alternative Day Zero festival returns for a third installment on 10th January 2015.

Taking place on a grand site set on three pyramids within the jungle wilderness near Playa Del Carmen, Mexico, the event gathers the cream of electronic music talent from around the globe to perform over twenty-four hours.

Day Zero has become renowned for its elaborate ancient rituals and ceremonies from local Mayan communities, hundreds of performers, activities such as sunrise yoga, firewalking and stargazing with astronomers. Produced in collaboration with Secret Productions (infamous for their work on the some of the UK’s best festivals such as Secret Garden Party, Wilderness and Lovebox), this special partnership gives a rich and insightful taste of this mystical wonderland.

Previous episodes have featured artists including Massive Attack, Trentemoller, Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs, Thievery Corporation, Jamie Jones, Tiga, Magda, Infinity Ink, Art Department, Acid Pauli and many more. 2015 promises to deliver even more inspiring talent and recreate the magic of this spiritual gathering.

Rebel Rave #14 directed by David Terranova depicts the Day Zero second festival in Mexico from January 2014 and offers a raw insight into this unique festival experience. An outstanding short documentary, it brings the mythical environment and fascinating Mayan culture into focus and features quirky exchanges with Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs, Ali Love and Damian Lazarus himself, amongst others. 

Tickets of trust on sale now for special price of 75USD. Tier two will be available on lineup announcement later this summer.

“We created Day Zero to commemorate the apocalypse, the end of the Mayan Calender and now that the world is still intact we gather each year to celebrate life, friendship and love at one of the most surreal, beautiful and thrilling settings on the planet” Damian Lazarus 

Day Zero is a chance for like-minded individuals to once again reset their ‘minds’ and explore their outer limits. Make sure you are part of the journey.


Watch the video for Simian Mobile Disco’s ‘Tangents’

Here’s the official clip for the first single off the duo’s upcoming album, Whorl.
(via RA)