GDD™ Morning Update: Skrillex, James Blake, Sven Väth

skrillex hard haunted mansion

Skrillex performs with Lauryn Hill, Janelle Monáe, The Doors’ Robby Krieger, everyone else ever at Bonnaroo
James Blake Talks Progress of Third Album & Possible Collaborators
Sven Väth is Coming Home


Skrillex performs with Lauryn Hill, Janelle Monáe, The Doors’ Robby Krieger, everyone else ever at Bonnaroo

Skrillex opens the Rolodex, havoc ensues.  

Having performed at Tennessee’s Bonnaroo festival on Friday, the EDM overlord helmed one of the event’s feted “Superjams” on Saturday – longform wigouts, typically featuring a raft of unlikely specially guests (Animal Collective and Police Academy’s Sgt. Jones, anyone?) Skrillex’s set, however, was starrier and stranger than most.

According to Billboard, Skrillex was joined by the elusive Lauryn Hill, who closed the set with versions of ‘Lost Ones’, The Fugees’ ‘Ready Or Not’ and a cover of Bob Marley’s ‘Jamming’. He was also assisted by pop-soul livewire Janelle Monáe, who rattled through covers of Michael Jackson’s ‘Wanna Be Startin’ Something’ and James Brown’s ‘I Feel Good’. The Doors’ Robby Krieger performed ‘Break on Through (To the Other Side)’, assisted by Cage The Elephant’s Mat Shultz and Skrillex on guitar and platitudes (“I wouldn’t even call this a live band. It’s like… some alien race of music.”)

The rotating cast of guests goes on. Warpaint rocked up to cover Technotronic (‘Pump Up The Jam’) and David Bowie (‘Let’s Dance’), A$AP Ferg had a crack at Biggie’s ‘Juicy’, and Mystikal barrelled through ‘Shake Ya Ass’ and ‘Bouncin’ Back (Bumpin’ Me Against The Wall)’, amongst others. Thundercat, Zedd, Big Gigantic, Fatman Scoop and Damian Marley also featured.

A short clip of Marley and Scoop’s performance is below. No emissaries from the Midlands, unfortunately.

(via FACT)


James Blake Talks Progress of Third Album & Possible Collaborators


During his first visit to Bonnaroo, English singer/songwriter/producer James Blake spoke with Billboard about the progress of his third album, which follows his Mercury Prize-winning 2013 album “Overgrown.”

“Every song is about 50 percent done,” Blake tells Billboard at Bonnaroo 2014. “I’m getting there.”

Blake, whose trippy amalgam of R&B and woozy electronica have won over fans like Kanye West, released his self-titled debut LP in 2011. Since then, he’s become a cult hero in indie and electronic circles.

“I’ve had a completely different life since the first album. I’ve had a lot more freedom since the first album, too,” he says. “The [album] I’m writing now, I’ve had more focus doing this than I have before. I’m having more fun.”

Blake says he’s been writing music with Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon and hopes to collaborate with Kanye West.

“It’s hard to say what will end up on the record, but it’s exciting,” he says. “There’s somebody else I don’t want to mention right now, but who I’m really excited about too.”

(via Billboard)


Sven Väth is Coming Home


Sven Väth has mixed a compilation for Stereo Deluxe‘s Coming Home series. 

Previous editions of Coming Home have been overseen by Nightmares On Wax, DJ Hell, Jazzanova and Nouvelle Vague. In keeping with the theme of the series, the 14-track selection explores the kind of music Väth listens to at home. “My influences have always been diverse and unpredictable,” says Väth in aFacebook post. “And that is unmistakably the case on this quiet listening compilation.” 

Väth’s selections include a number of synth explorers (James HoldenBoards of CanadaOneohtrix Point Never), breakthrough artists from the past couple of years (Nils FrahmAxel Boman) and some underground house favourites (Horror Inc., Portable). 

“I actually intended to present only my current fave songs—without any particular dramaturgy,” he says. “But even so, there’s a musical arc of suspense to what came together in the end.”Coming Home is currently available for preorder at iTunes. It’ll also be released on CD. 

For some more insight into Väth’s decades-long career, check his recent Exchange with RA editor Ryan Keeling below: 

01. Arve Henriksen – Poverty And It’s Opposite
02. Horror Inc. – Crépuscule
03. Recondite – Leafs
04. Boards Of Canada – Cold Earth
05. Axel Boman – Fantastic Piano
06. Oneohtrix Point Never – Americans
07. Holden – Some Respite
08. Portable – Making Holes
09. Popnoname – Ann
10. CocoRosie – Tears For Animals
11. Origin – Lizzy
12. Donni Sò – La Pagliarella (Ulrich Schnauss Remix)
13. Food – Becalmed
14. Nils Frahm – Says

Stereo Deluxe will release Coming Home on June 27th, 2014.

(via RA)