GDD™ Morning Update: Plastikman, Crookers, Hyperdub, Caribou

• Mute to release live Plastikman album, EX
Crookers’ New Single “Able to Maximize” Out Now Via Ciao Records + Tour Dates
Hyperdub Details Second 10th Anniversary Compilation
Caribou Reveals Upcoming New LP, Shares First Single


Mute to release live Plastikman album, EX

Mute Records have announced details of a live album fromRichie Hawtin‘s Plastikman alias. 

EX is Hawtin’s first Plastikman album since 2003, when he released Closer on NovaMute and Minus. All seven tracks were recorded live at The Guggenheim Museum in New York, where Hawtin played at the invitation of Belgian fashion designer Raf Simons. 

“I knew that Raf was a long time Plastikman fan so by accepting his offer to perform at the Dior event at the Guggenheim I knew I’d set myself up to a huge challenge,” Hawtin says. “Although Raf was happy to have the already complete Plastikman Live 1.5 show, I locked myself away in a series of intense studio sessions and quickly recorded enough new material for the performance and realised I might also have enough for a complete new album.” 

He adds: “The music came out of me effortlessly as I was very inspired by the opportunity to play in this beautiful architectural space renowned more for art than music. The location also allowed me to step far away from the dancefloor, giving me a huge amount of freedom to explore any sonic ideas that I had. Art, music, architecture, painting, sculpture—these mediums are supposed to live together.” 

The album will be released digitally on June 10th, two days before Hawtin plays his only live Plastikman show of 2014, at Sónar in Barcelona. The vinyl, CD and “limited edition SubPac bundle” will follow on July 14th. (A Mute press release describes the SubPac as “a unique portable bass system that allows an immersive music experience.”) 

You can watch a trailer for EX below: 

01. EXposed
02. EXtend
03. EXpand
04. EXtrude
05. EXplore
06. EXpire
07. EXhale

Mute will release EX on July 14th, 2014.

(via RA)


Crookers’ New Single “Able to Maximize” Out Now Via Ciao Records + Tour Dates


Electronic grand wizard, Francesco ‘Phra’ Barbaglia, aka Crookers launches the summer season with a brand new single “Able to Maximize” out now via Ciao Records. Renowned for his high-octane, no-holds-barred live shows and productions, this incendiary release is currently setting dance floors ablaze, with a remix package from Chuckie, franskild, MAO set for release on June 2, along with bonus remixes from Digi and Suck Fake.

“Able to Maximize” is a reflection of where Phra is with his sound at the moment. Fully immersing himself with his songwriting craft, experimenting with different effects and approaches until he was sure that he had the sound he was was looking for. “The idea for the track came about one night when Dilligas and I were hanging out at home,” explains Phra. “We were in the studio playing out old dub records and discovered this little mad MIDI file.”

He goes on to add, “I lifted the drum sounds and distorted the hell out of it, adding my own little signature.” The end product was a resounding success with Crookers making it a staple tune in his new live sets. “It always puts a smile on people’s faces. It’s probably a good thing because as my grandma used to say, It’s impossible to see an ugly face if it’s smiling.” Wise words.

Phra’s previous singles, “Ghetto Guetta” and “Heavy,” went back to the old school formula that gave Crookers its imitable sound and racked tens of thousands of plays on Soundcloud. The recent remix competition in conjunction with Sennheiser and Soundcloud for the single garnered 300 entries with the winner to be selected by the man himself.

Crookers remix of Kid Cudi’s “Day ‘N Nite” reached #2 on the UK sales chart and Crookers’ debut album, ‘Tons of Friends,’ featured an all-star lineup that included Miike Snow, Pitbull and Major Lazer. Not one to rest on his laurels, Phra has already begun work on his next album planned for release later this year.

“Able to Maximize” is out now on iTunes and Beatport

Crookers Upcoming Dates
June 5 Santa Ana, CA @ Yost Theater
June 6 San Francisco, CA @ 1015 Folsom
June 7 San Diego, CA @ BASSMNT
June 14 Italy @ Holi Festival
June 20 & 21 Germany @ Hurricane Festival & Southside Festival
June 29 London, England @ Holi Festival
July 6 Barcelona, Spain @ Row 14
July 12 Salzburg, Austria @ Electric Love Festival
August 14 Belgium @ Pukkelpop Festival
August 16 Mannheim, Germany @ Holi Festival
August 22 Germany @ Moosburg Utopia Island Festival
August 28 Zurich Openair Festival
September 6 Ibiza, Spain @ Space
September 12 Barcelona, Spain @ The Loft


Hyperdub Details Second 10th Anniversary Compilation

hyperdub_040614 (1)

In celebration of its tenth anniversary, Hyperdub has shared details for the second installment in its compilation series, which will highlight the R&B inclinations of the label as well as overlooked cuts from the reputable imprint’s back catalog. Originating as a leftfield dubstep outlet under the direction of DJ/producer Kode9 10 years ago, the influential label has since diffused across a wide spectrum of styles and genres, and, while often associated with “dark and brooding instrumental music,” the forthcoming release reportedly aims to cast some sunlight over this “dread-filled reputation.” Hyperdub 10.2follows last month‘s inaugural, dancefloor-oriented issue of the series and will feature material—some of which has been previously unreleased—from a formidable roster of contributors including Burial, Cooly G, and the late DJ Rashad to Dean Blunt & Inga Copeland, Ikonika, and Kode9 himself.

The forthcoming compilation (with tracklist posted below) officially lands on July 22, and Hyperdub is also slated to stage a spate of international showcases throughout the year and a US tour in early fall, detailed here.

01. Dean Blunt & Inga Copeland – Signal 2012
02. Burial – Shell of Light
03. Jessy Lanza – 5785021
04. Cooly G – Obsessed
05. Fhloston Paradigm – Never Defeated – feat Rachel Claudio
06. DVA – Solid – feat Zaki Ibrahim
07. Ikonika – I Know (That U Are The 1) – feat Dam Funk
08. Morgan Zarate – Pusher Taker – feat Roses Gabor
09. Jessy Lanza – You and Me
10. Morgan Zarate – Sticks & Stones – feat Eska & Ghostface Killa
11. DVA – Just Vybe (Soule Power Mix) – feat Fatima
12. Terror Danjah – You Make Me Feel – feat Meleka
13. DJ Rashad – Only One – feat Spinn & Taso
14. Kode9 – Lies Lies Lies – feat copeland

(via XLR8R)


Caribou Reveals Upcoming New LP, Shares First Single


Dan Snaith has revealed plans to release his sixth studio album as Caribou later this year via MergeCity Slang. Entitled Our Love, the 10-track record comes over four years after Swim, Caribou’s 2010 LP which cemented his place as one of electronic music’s most inventive artists and consistent creative forces. Our Love appears set to continue in that path—described as a record “formed around a mixture of digital pop production, hip-hop-inspired beats, muted house basslines and a love of shuffling garage,” the forthcoming album is toted as Caribou’s “most soulful record to date, chock-full of heartfelt lyrics and organic nature which cuts through bubbling synths and blissful euphoria of their synthetic constructions.” Furthermore, the album is said to feature collaborations with Jessy Lanza and Owen Pallett in its run.

Set to see an official release on October 7, the full tracklist for Our Love is included below, along with a stream of driving lead single “Can’t Do Without You” and a long list of Caribou’s upcoming worldwide tour dates.

(via XLR8R)