GDD™ Morning Update: Diplo, Bonobo, The Do LaB


Diplo launches SoundCloud account supporting new music
Bonobo digs deep for an Essential Mix debut you should hear
The Do LaB announces Coachella Weekend 2 set times


Diplo launches SoundCloud account supporting new music

Mad Decent head honcho Diplo has launched a SoundCloud account hosting music he approves of.

Aptly titled Diplo Approved, he took to Twitter to let his followers know about the new account, where he’ll re-post any tunes that tickle his fancy.

Only a few tracks appear on there at the moment, including a Genesis remix of Schoolboy Q and Kendrick Lamar’s ‘Collard Greens’ collaboration, Emoh Instead’s ‘Say So’ EP, a remix of Slum Village and ‘Suburbs’ by Norwegian singer Mr Little Jeans.

Check out Diplo Approved here.

(via Mixmag)


Bonobo digs deep for an Essential Mix debut you should hear


Basking in the critical success of his most recent album The North Borders, Simon Green AKABonobo has been riding high well into 2014, following a massive 140-date tour and plans to headline the iconic Alexandra Palace in London in November. This past weekend was especially big for the UK producer, performing at Coachella Music Festival on the same evening as the airing of his debut Essential Mix on BBC Radio 1.

While Bonobo’s approach to the mix was to simply play out the “broader spectrum” of music he enjoys, one quick glance at the tracklist below is evidence enough of his seasoned selection skills. Soulful cuts from artists like Awanto 3, Dauwd, Cuthead, Jimpster and Romare sound out among deeper, broodier tracks from Mano Le Tough, Ten Walls and Throwing Snow. Aside from showing his home label Ninja Tune some love by highlighting music from label-mates Kelis and Illum Sphere, Green showcases some of his own work, including his remix of Maya Jane Coles’ Something in the Air. Check it out below.

Bonobo Essential Mix tracklist
01. Vangelis – Abraham’s Theme
02. Bonobo – Don’t Wait
03. Letherette – D&t (Dorian Concept Remix)
04. Dark Sky – Clear
05. Maya Jane Coles – Something In The Air (Bonobo Remix)
06. Catching Flies – Mama’s Wisdom
07. Mano Le Tough – Primitive People (Tale Of Us Remix)
08. Dauwd – Lydia
09. Cuthead – Maputo Jam
10. Maribou State – Moon Circles
11. Sharon Van Etten – We Are Fine (Tourist Remix)
12. Jimpster & Porchlight – Porchlight And Rocking Chairs (KiNK Remix)
13. Lorca – Naoko
14. Bonobo feat. Grey Reverend – First Fires (Maya Jane Coles Remix)
15. Jungle – Drops (Pedestrian Edit)
16. Werkha – Lapwing
17. Ten Walls – Requiem
18. Francis Bebey – Bissao (Pilooski Edit)
19. General Ludd – Woo Ha
20. Romare – Jimmy
21. William Arcane – Reflected
22. London Grammar – Hey Now (Bonobo Remix)
23. Taylor Mcferrin feat. Emily King – Decisions
24. Throwing Snow feat. Adda Kaleh – The Tempest
25. Kelis – Runnin’ (Machinedrum Remix)
26. Illum Sphere – Embryonic (Lone Remix)
27. Martyn – Glassbeadgames (Four Tet Dub)

(via inthemix)


The Do LaB announces Coachella Weekend 2 set times


Our friends at The Do LaB have announced the set times for Coachella weekend 2! Much like weekend 1, they bring a stacked lineup including some of my personal favorites such as Kidnap Kid, DJ Tennis, Thugfucker, Sweater Beats, Opiuo, and many more. See you out there this weekend!