GDD™ Morning Update: John Talabot/Jamie xx, Diddy/Guy Gerber, Lone


• Listen to John Talabot‘s and Jamie xx‘s Lengthy B2B Session from Beats in Space
Diddy and Guy Gerber’s 11:11 set for release, Diddy originally wanted to call the album Ketamine
Lone reveals full details of Reality Testing


Listen to John Talabot’s and Jamie xx’s Lengthy B2B Session from Beats in Space

Tim Sweeney‘s long-running Beats in Space radio show is known for its top-notch guests, but last night’s episode was a real all-star edition, as the entire show was devoted to a special joint mix from John Talabot and Jamie xx. No playlist is available, but the two-and-a-half-hour program is full of quality tunes, as the two DJs moved through cuts of house, disco, boogie, funk, electro, and more. The whole thing can be heard in the player below, and we’re guessing that it will help to tide over all of those who are anxiously awaiting the arrival of Jamie xx’s new 12,” which drops next month.

(via XLR8R)


Diddy and Guy Gerber’s 11:11 set for release, Diddy originally wanted to call the album Ketamine

Diddy, or Puff Daddy, or whatever he’s called today, is set to finally release his collaborative album with Guy Gerber, 11:11.

Diddy and Gerber announced that they were making an album a few years back, and you’d be forgiven for thinking it would never arrive. However, Diddy hosted a listening party for 11:11 at the Red Bull Guest House in Miami, so it’s safe to presume it’s arriving soon. According to Billboard, Diddy described the album as a product of “demented after hours minds”, and marks a follow-up of sorts to Diddy / Dirty Money’s cult favourite Last Train to Paris.

Incredibly, RBMA report that Diddy wanted to call the album Ketamine. That’s that whole “demented after hours” thing explained then, we guess.

Stream Last Train to Paris highlight ‘Shades’ below.

(via FACT)


Lone reveals full details of Reality Testing


Lone has announced full details of his next album for R&S Records, Reality Testing. 

Initial details arrived last week when the album was made available for preorder via Boomkat. Now the producer, real name Matt Cutler, has spoken of the influences that fed into the LP. “I was listening to a lot of Detroit techno and old Chicago house that had the same grain and dirtiness to it as a lot of the hip hop I was listening to,” he says. “That was the real spark—I wanted to make an album that had both hip-hop and house beats, but that weren’t completely different from each other, that shared the same sort of vibe. I love the idea of two things sat side by side, but instead of it seeming like they’re complete opposites, [it’s more that] those two things could almost be the same thing.” 

Cutler says he sees Reality Testing as “a diary, a real document of the last year of making it.” He adds: “In a lot of the tracks there’s sounds I’ve sampled and recorded of me just being in the studio, and leaving the microphone running—you’re almost in there with me. I wanted it to be a representation of the different moods and emotions that went into making it—just as real and honest as possible.” The record features “Airglow Fires” and “Begin To Begin,” both of which were released on R&S last year, as well as ten previously unheard cuts. 

You can stream one of the album’s tracks, “2 Is 8,” below: 

01. First Born Seconds
02. Restless Cities
03. Meeker Warmer Energy
04. Aurora Northern Quarter
05. 2 Is 8
06. Airglow Fires
07. Coincidences
08. Begin To Begin
09. Jaded
10. Vengeance Video
11. Stuck
12. Cutched Under

R&S will release Reality Testing on June 16th, 2014.

(via RA)