GDD™ Morning Update: Hercules & Love Affair, Sonar, Otherside, Mickey Pearce


Hercules & Love Affair have The Feast Of The Broken Heart
Sonar Adds 50 Artists to Lineup
• Butch and Hohberg launch Otherside at WMC
• Mickey Pearce Releases Free Beat Tape via Swamp 81


Hercules & Love Affair have The Feast Of The Broken Heart


Hercules & Love Affair will release their next LP on May 26th. 

The Feast Of The Broken Heart follows 2011’s Blue Songs, and, like that album, it sees NYC producer and band mastermind Andy Butler switching up the group’s personnel once again. On tap for this one are Belgian singer Gustaph, Rouge Mary, former Czars member John Grant and Krystle Warren, a friend of Grant’s whom he introduced to Butler. Co-produced by Mark Pistel (whose resume includes Grace Jones and Meat Beat Manifesto) and Ha-Ze factory, Broken Heart is said to take a darker tack than its predecessors, and with Butler quoted that he “wanted nasty basslines, stormy, bleary-eyed sounds, fiery, rough, tough and ragged old school house productions that sounded almost techno. I didn’t want polite, I wanted aggressive.” The record will come through London label Moshi Moshi

Check out first single “Do You Feel The Same?” featuring Gustaph below. It’ll be released as a single with two extra tracks (“Raid” and “Working Miracles”) on April 14th. 

01. Hercules Theme 2014
02. My Offence feat. Krystle Warren
03. I Try to Talk to You feat. John Grant
04. That’s Not Me feat. Gustaph
05. Think feat. Rouge Mary
06. 5.43 to Freedom feat. Rouge Mary
07. The Light feat. Krystle Warren
08. Liberty feat. John Grant
09. Do You Feel the Same? feat. Gustaph
10. The Key feat. Rouge Mary

Moshi Moshi will release The Feast Of The Broken Heart on May 26th, 2014

(via RA)


Sonar Adds 50 Artists to Lineup

Barcelona’s Sónar Festival has announced a host of additions to the already announced line-up, including Todd Terje, Boys Noize and Paul Woolford.
Announced today, among a list of 50 new artists, further additions include Kaytranada, Chic featuring Nile Rodgers, Audion, Loco Dice, Sinjin Hawke, Future Brown (pictured) and Despacio, the collaborative project between James Murphy and 2ManyDJs.

Taking place over three days from June 12, they join the likes of Massive Attack, Caribou and Richie Hawtin who were already announced.

Head to Sónar’s website for more information and the line-up so far.

(via Mixmag)


Butch and Hohberg launch Otherside at WMC


Butch and Sebastian Hohberg will throw launch party for their new Otherside label at WMC Miami on March 20th.

News of Butch and Hohberg’s joint venture emerged back in February. The imprint’s first release, a three-track collaboration from the pair, is due at the end of this month, just a few days after the upcoming WMC session. The action at the launch party is set to go down at Do Not Sit On The Furniture, an intimate, tech house-friendly club situated just off Miami Beach. It’ll be Butch and Hohberg behind the decks for most of the night, with a to-be-announced special guest also set to make an appearance. Things are due to kick off at 10 PM and carry on through the early hours.

United States of America Mar 20  Butch presents Oth.., Do Not Sit On The Furniture, Florida

(via RA)


Mickey Pearce Releases Free Beat Tape via Swamp 81


For those people (ourselves included) who are still patiently awaiting the next official single to arrive from UK bass wrangler Mickey Pearce, well, we don’t really know when that record is going to come. But we have just been handed the next best thing: a beat tape offering 30-plus minutes of “tracks, loops, and live jams” from the DJ/producer, which is available now as a free download. Courtesy of Loefah’s Swamp 81 label, the nine-track Up West is available to anyone willing to share their email address. Everyone interested in doing so can head here for the free download, and Mickey Pearce’s new beat tape can be previewed before then below, where its tracklist is also included.

01. No Question
02. Rags
03. Instructions
04. Threatz remix
05. Dirt
06. Jars
07. Loop 3
08. Jersey
09. Jeremih Loop

(via XLR8R)