GDD™ Morning Update: Hudson Mohawke, Holy Ship, Machinedrum, De La Soul

• Download Hudson Mohawke‘s ‘Slow Jams VII’ Valentine’s Day Mix
• Holy Ship festival extending to two weekends next year
• Listen to a New Track from Machinedrum‘s Upcoming EP for Ninja Tune
De La Soul release entire catalog for free


Download Hudson Mohawke’s ‘Slow Jams VII’ Valentine’s Day Mix

Following in his annual tradition of releasing amourous mixes on Valentine’s Day, Glasgow-based producer Hudson Mohawke has dropped Slow Jams VII today, the latest installment in the man’s love-fueled mix series. The 46-minute mix offers no tracklist, but is filled with unmistakable classics like Eddie Holman’s soulful groove “Hey There Lonely Girl” and Meli’sa Morgan’s feel-good staple, “Fool’s Paradise.” Packed with elegant jams, the tastefully curated set is a welcome edition to the Slow Jams family. Slow Jams VII can be streamed and downloaded via the player below.

(via XLR8R)


Holy Ship festival extending to two weekends next year


Just one month since Holy Ship arrived back at shore, the festival has announced that it will be setting sail twice in 2015.

The dates of the MSC Divina’s sea voyage will be January 3 to 6 and February 25 to 28, making its way from Miami to the Bahamas and back as well as visiting a private island.

Although no line-up has been announced yet, pre-booking for returning and first time boat revelers will open next month.

This year’s line-up featured Skrillex, Maceo Plex, Disclosure, Flume, Brodinski and Dillon Francis.

Head to Holy Ship’s website for more information.

(via Mixmag)


Listen to a New Track from Machinedrum’s Upcoming EP for Ninja Tune


Prolific New York-based producer Travis Stewart (a.k.a. Machinedrum) has announced that he will release a new EP via Ninja Tune next month, sharing with the news lead single “Back Seat Ho.” The forthcoming Fenris District EP will feature three previously unreleased Machinedrum productions, as well as remixes from Warp affiliate Rustie and dubstep specialists Pinch & Adrian Sherwood, when it drops on March 24. In the meantime, EP cut “Back Seat Ho” can be streamed in full below.

(via XLR8R)


De La Soul release entire catalog for free


The Native Tongues trio plans a very special Valentine’s Day gift.

To celebrate the 25th anniversary of their classic 1989 debut 3 Feet High and Rising, De La Soul will make their entire discography available for free download for 25 hours, from Friday, February 14th at 11am EST until Saturday at noon. And here it is.

“It’s about allowing our fans who have been looking and trying to get a hold of our music to have access to it,” De La Soul’s Posdnuous tells Rolling Stone. “Its been too long where our fans haven’t had access to everything. This is our way of showing them how much we love them.”

After the music giveaway, they’ll continue to release new songs in the run-up to You’re Welcome, the long-delayed follow-up to 2004′sThe Grind Date, which they hope to release before summer. In addition, they’ll release Preemium Soul on the Rocks, an EP split featuring beats by DJ Premier and Pete Rock.

“We have tons of music, but we’re our own worst critics,” Posdnuous says of the delayed releases. “Certain groups have too many ‘yes men.’ In our group, we have too many ‘no men.’ When we look back on some of the stuff we have, we’re like, ‘Yo, we need to just put this out.’”

And they’re not done: “We also have this whole other album that we’re working on that… Wooo, I wish I could talk about it,” he teases.

(via FACT Mag)