GDD™ Morning Update: Simian Mobile Disco, Four Tet, Scuba, Vermont


• Listen to Simian Mobile Disco‘s New “Snake Bile Wine” Single
Four Tet and Terror Danjah to release collaborative single ‘Killer’ / ‘Nasty’
Scuba to tour North America
• Motor City Drum Ensemble and Marcus Worgoll Ready Collaborative LP for Kompakt as Vermont


Listen to Simian Mobile Disco’s New “Snake Bile Wine” Single

Back in December, we first shared news of Snake Bile Wine, Simian Mobile Disco‘s forthcoming 12″ which is set to come backed with a pair of remixes from fellow techno mainstay Trevino. Now, with less than a week left before its vinyl release, the record’s title track has been made available to stream in full. Clocking in at just past eight minutes, “Snake Bile Wine” is an efficiently constructed, bass-focused dancefloor workout—one which utilizes a handful of fuzzy chords, some tweaked synthlines, and the occasional organ stab to encourage movement throughout its entire run. Below, “Snake Bile Wine” can be heard in its entirety before Simian Mobile Disco’s four-track record drops via the duo’s own Delicacies imprint, with the vinyl arriving on January 20 and digital appearing a week later.

(via XLR8R)


Four Tet and Terror Danjah to release collaborative single ‘Killer’ / ‘Nasty


Four Tet‘s Text label will follow its reissue of Crazy Bald Heads’ ‘First Born’ with a collaborative Four Tet / Terror Danjahsingle.

His tracks instantly recognisable due to their signature “gremlin” cackle, Terror Danjah has been releasing grime anthems since the early ’00s, with Planet Mu compiling his best work on 2009′s Gremlinz compilation. The years since have seen Terror find a regular home on Hyperdub, releasing two albums on the label (Undeniable and The Dark Crawler) while also becoming a firm affiliate of the Butterz label.

No release date yet for the Four Tet / Terror Danjah single, but Four Tet has tweeted that the tracks are titled ‘Killer’ and ‘Nasty’ (he has, however, since deleted that tweet, so this may have changed). 

(via FACT Mag)


Scuba to tour North America


Berlin-based producer Scuba has announced a nine-date tour of North America.

Coming after the Hotflush showcase at Mexico’s BPM Festival, the UK artist, real name Paul Rose, will travel to cities including Toronto, San Francisco, New York, Los Angeles and San Diego.

The tour kicks off on January 31 at Footwork in Toronto and ends on February 15 with a set at U Street Music Hall in Washington.

Check out the tour dates below.

January 31 – Footwork, Toronto
February 1 – Igloofest, Montreal
February 6 – Mezzanine, San Francisco
February 7 – Sound, Los Angeles
February 8 – Bang Bang, San Diego
February 12 – Electric Owl, Vancouver
February 13 – Q Nightclub, Seattle
February 14 – Output, New York City
February 15 – U Street Music Hall, Washington DC

(via Mixmag)


Motor City Drum Ensemble and Marcus Worgoll Ready Collaborative LP for Kompakt as Vermont


Danilo Plessow (the DJ/producer better known as Motor City Drum Ensemble) has revealed a new collaborative project alongside Innervisions affiliate Marcus Worgull. Operating together as Vermont, the pair is preparing the release of its self-titled debut LP via Cologone staple Kompakt.

Vermont is said to contain tracks that “emerged from a series of loose jam sessions” and render themselves more like “sleek soundscapes of Krautrock-ish proportions” than the dancefloor tunes one might suspect. In addition to Plessow and Worgull, a number of instrumental collaborators also make appearances on the record, including former Can member Jaki Liebezeit. The 14-track Vermont album will see a CD and LP release (with a bonus 7″ for those who purchase the vinyl) on March 17. In the meantime, the record’s artwork and tracklist are included below.

01 Yaiza
02 Rückzug
03 Übersprung
04 Sharav
05 Dynamik
06 Majestät
07 Cocos
08 Elektron
09 Katzenjammer
10 Droixhe
11 Macchina (side a on bonus 7″)
12 Ebbe
13 Lithium (side b on bonus 7″)
14 Montag

(via XLR8R)