GDD™ Morning Update: Sam Smith, Move D, FaltyDL


Sam Smith named winner of BBC Sound of 2014
Move D mixes fabric 74
FaltyDL to Release New Single via Ninja Tune


Sam Smith named winner of BBC Sound of 2014

Pop singer and Disclosure collaborator Sam Smith has won the BBC Sound of 2014 poll.

“I’m completely speechless,” the 21-year-old told the BBC. “It’s a huge compliment to be recognised by the industry and the BBC in this way.”

Smith always looked likely to top the 15-strong list – which also included FACT favourite FKA twigs, Kelela and Chance The Rapper – following his year at the top of the charts as a guest vocalist on tracks by Disclosure and Naughty Boy. His own debut album, In The Lonely Hour, is due out in May 26 via Capitol Records.

Smith has already been named the winner of the Critics’ Choice prize at this year’s Brit Awards, and he’s just been nominated in the best song category for his collaboration with Disclosure, ‘Latch’. Disclosure, meanwhile, lead this year’s Brit Awards with nominations in four categories, including best British group.

The Sound of 2014 list was compiled using suggestions from 170 UK-based critics, broadcasters and bloggers. Previous winners include Haim, Adele, Ellie Goulding and Jessie J. Ella Eyre was named runner-up yesterday, followed by Banks, Sampha andGeorge Ezra in third, fourth and fifth place respectively.

Last month DJ Premier remixed ‘Latch’ for the Disclosure remix album – hear it below: 

(via FACT Mag)


Move D mixes fabric 74


Move D‘s fabric 74 mix will see release on February 24th.

David Moufang says the mix’s inspiration came from his sets Freerotation—near-spiritual events that brought him to tears a couple of years back. His tracklist avoids big-name artists, with the focus on overlooked gems like Roy Davis Jr.’s “Under Tha Sun” (which opens the mix) alongside material from modern day favourites like Juju & Jordash and Smallpeople. There’s also an unreleased track from Moufang himself called “Luvbyrds.”

“The first time I heard about fabric was through an old friend, Peter (Baby) Ford—it must have been the early 2000s—way before I ever got booked to play there,” Moufang says. “He told me about fabric being the only good club left in London, supporting the underground scene, which by its nature made the event something very special to me, and it still is. Playing Room One or Room Three in fabric is quite an experience for every DJ—the same most likely counts for Room Two too, I just never happened to play there myself.”

The launch party will take place at fabric on February 22nd, with Move D set to spin alongside Craig Richards, Juju & Jordash and more. Tickets to the event are available here on RA.

01. Roy Davis Jr. – Under Tha Sun
02. Liz Torres – Your Love is All I Need (Dub Mix)
03. Liberty City – Some Lovin’
04. M.ono – Holding Back California
05. Jamie Trench & Angus Jefford – Bringin’ Tha Heat
06. Earl Jeffers – The Goose
07. Darkman – Annihilating Rhythm (The Destruction Mix)
08. MD III – Shake That Body (K-Alexi Dubs You The Right Way Mix)
09. Dom 877 – Do It Right
10. Juju & Jordash – Loosey Goosey
11. Christo – New Jazzno
12. Last Magpie – Roots
13. Move D / D-Man – Luvbyrds
14. Willow – Feel Me
15. Smallpeople & Rau – Unke

Fabric Records will release fabric 74 on February 24th, 2014.

(via Resident Advisor)


FaltyDL to Release New Single via Ninja Tune


After nabbing the #12 spot in our Best Tracks of 2013 list and the #6 spot in our Best Releases of 2013 list, New York house DJ/producer FaltyDL is already gearing up for a solid 2014, as he’s just announced a brand-new single which is set drop via Ninja Tune this month. Described as “a spy flick in a 10″,” “Danger” b/w “King Brute (feat. Shanghai Den)” will follow almost exactly a year after the artist born Drew Lustman’s excellent,XLR8R Pick’d Hardcourage LP when it drops on January 20. The record’s crunchy and inventive b-side is available to stream before its release, below.

(via XLR8R)