GDD™ Morning Update: Flying Lotus, Jeff Mills, John Talabot, Darius Syrossian


Flying Lotus to provide “inspired rhythmic score” to new Sundance film
• Jeff Mills unveils Chronicles Of Possible Worlds
• Download a New Track from John Talabot
• Darius Syrossian allegedly attacked by festival security


Flying Lotus to provide “inspired rhythmic score” to new Sundance film

Flying Lotus‘ portfolio of film music projects continues to expand.

The L.A. producer’s work has always been closely linked with film: he trained as a filmmaker, contributed music to the Jay-Z produced 2012 film An Oversimplication of her Beauty, and did the same last year for former collaborator Kahlil Joseph’s Wildcat. He’ll continue to indulge his inner cineaste in 2014, contributing the score to another independent film, set to open at this year’s Sundance Film Festival.

As Exclaim report, Imperial Dreams will feature an “inspired rhythmic score by composer Flying Lotus”. The film follows a freshly released convict on the hunt for his infant son; the synopsis for the flick is below:

“Bambi wants to publish his credos and chronicles and start his career the way any other normal young writer would. For Bambi, however, normal is the quandary. “Normal” means returning to Watts, Los Angeles, after a 28-month jail stint to find his young son playing next to his strung-out grandmother. It’s normal for the patriarch of his family to offer Bambi pills, guns, and a drug-running job as a way to welcome him home. A normal visit from his cousin involves Bambi and son performing minor surgery to extract a bullet from his arm. Bambi meets this surreal, ghetto normal with equanimity, but he knows life can’t be “normal” like this for long.”

Last month, the producer gave away a stash of previously unreleased material, packaged as Ideas+Drafts+Loops. His fifth solo LP is reportedly “almost ready”, and is expected to see the light of day before the year is out.

(via FACT Mag)


Jeff Mills unveils Chronicles Of Possible Worlds


Jeff Mills will return with a new album called Chronicles Of Possible Worlds, which comes backed by a DVD and 22-page booklet.

The album is a soundtrack to Mills’ recent performance art show of the same name, which premiered in late 2013 in Aix-en-Provence, France, commissioned by Foundation Vasarely. The show sees Mills “translate scientific data of newly discovered Extra Solar Planets using dance, art and techno music,” according to a post on his Facebook page. Apparently, dancers at the performance transmitted Mills’s soundtrack through speakers built into their outfits. Chronicles Of Possible Worlds will come out through the artist’s own Axis Records, with the soundtrack accompanied by a “Making Of” DVD and booklet. 

01. Starlight Transmission
02. An Alternative To Earth
03. Solar System Context
04. The Gemini Pulsar
05. Searching The Stars
06. The Possibility Of Other Earths
07. Tales From Extra Solar Wasp 17B
08. Transit Detections
09. Lyra Constellations
10. Planetary Habitual Zones
11. Dreams Beyond Our Horizon

Axis will release Chronicles Of Possible Worlds in January 2014.

(via Resident Advisor)


Download a New Track from John Talabot


Busy Barcelona producer John Talabot (who recently provided XLR8R with an informative introduction to the Barcelona electronic-music scene in this week’s profile of his hometown) is celebrating his birthday today, and has elected to mark the occasion by offering fans a free download of a never-before-heard demo track. Appropriately called “08-01,” the drum-heavy production appeared on the artist born Oriol Riverola’s SoundCloud account earlier today with this message: “It’s my B-day today. Here’s a demo I’ll never be able to finish or properly release because I lost the files. Free download. Thanks.” John Talabot’s “unfinished” production sounds anything but, with a set of typically balmy synth tones dancing around his ’80s-inflected bassline and punchy drum-machine patterns—all of which can be streamed and downloaded for free via the player below.

(via XLR8R)


Darius Syrossian allegedly attacked by festival security


Darius Syrossian has blasted festival security guards for allegedly attacking him towards the end of his set at the festival based in Playa Del Carmen.

Commenting on a status posted on his Facebook page, he responded to a fan thanking him for his set before explaining what happened after he complained about friends being refused entry to the site on his guestlist.

His comment read: “Didn’t you see the security beat me up in the DJ booth at the end? I am going to keep my mouth shut about what happened and fully explain what happened at this festival in a couple of days.

“Because I had a go at them for why my guestlist had to pay, they sent security to the booth to beat me up in front of the whole crowd. I was having such a great time and I got beaten up by five or six BPM Mexican henchmen.”

He claims he has a broken knee cap and two broken ribs.

More information about the incident is expected but you can read his comments on the alleged attacking on his Facebook page.

(via Mixmag)