GDD™ Morning Update: John Talabot, Four Tet, Mr. Oizo, Tycho


John Talabot Announces US Tour Dates
Four Tet shares a host of free tracks on Twitter
• Mr Oizo readies Wrong Cops
• Tycho is Awake on new album


John Talabot Announces US Tour Dates

In support of his noteworthy contribution to !K7‘s DJ-Kicks mix series last month, John Talabot has announced an upcoming US tour which will find the Barcelona producer/DJ hitting 11 cities this coming February. Due to the fact that the upcoming string of dates is slated to coincide with the release of his recent mix CD, the tour will find Talabot operating as a solo DJ, rather than performing live alongside Pional. Still, a John Talabot DJ set has many times over proven to be as essential as the man’s live show, and the 10 US cities and single Canadian destination set to be part of the tour should consider themselves fortunate to be able to host the man as their selector for an evening. John Talabot’s complete list of February US DJ dates are included below.

February 4 – Miami, FL @ Bardot
February 5 – Washington, DC @ U Hall
February 6 – Montreal, QB @ SAT
February 7 – New York, NY @ SRB
February 8 – Toronto, ON @ Footwork
February 9 – Vancouver, BC @ Fortune
February 11 – Seattle, WA @ Q
February 12 – Austin, TX @ Kingdom
February 13 – Costa Mesa, CA @ Mesa
February 14 – Los Angeles, CA @ Club Called Rhonda
February 15 – San Francisco, CA @ Icee Hot

(via XLR8R)


Four Tet shares a host of free tracks on Twitter


In the spirit of Christmas and celebrating reaching 100,000 Twitter followers, Four Tet has posted a host of free tracks via SendSpace.

Taking to Twitter this week, the producer tweeted: “Shout out to the 100,000+. Got some stuff for you.”

He then went on to post 15 links including unreleased tracks and collaborations that were made “between 1999 and 2012″.

Once he’d finished sharing the files, he sarcastically asked: “Is SendSpace indie label of the year 2013?”

Head to Four Tet’s Twitter to grab the free tracks and make the most of his seasonal cheer.

(via Mixmag)


Mr Oizo readies Wrong Cops


The soundtrack to Mr. Oizo‘s next film, Wrong Cops, will see release in early 2014. 

The release falls somewhere between an OST and a best-of compilation, focussing mostly on material Quentin Dupieux released in recent years, including “Cut Dick,” “Transexual” and “Posotif.” There are a couple of guest appearances, too: Justice’s Gaspard Augé features on two tracks, while Marilyn Manson—who also appears in the film—guests on “Solid.” Sébastien Tellier appears on a version of “Stunt,” which first came out in 2004 on Laurent Garnier’s defunct F Communications. 

The film’s “first chapter” was shown at the Cannes Film Festival last year, and now a full-length flick is on the way. The movie’s website describes it as “a filthy 90-minute comedy about some disturbed cops,” and, confusingly, it has nothing to do with Dupieux’s previous film, Wrong. The soundtrack will be released on CD and double-vinyl formats through Ed Banger Records. You can watch a trailer for the video below:

01. Copening Redits
02. WC
03. Cut Dick
04. Flip Bat
05. Transexual
06. Textes
07. Z
08. Jo
09. Solid feat. Marilyn Manson
10. Crows & Guts feat. Gaspard Augé
11. Bellyball Road
12. Camel Fuck
13. Positif
14. Druide
15. France 7
16. Stunt feat. Sébastien Tellier
17. Polocaust feat. Gaspard Augé
18. Peehurts
19. De Luca
20. Lars Von Sen (X-Mas Version)
21. The End

Ed Banger will release Wrong Cops on February 10th, 2014.

(via Resident Advisor)


Tycho is Awake on new album


Tycho will release his next album, Awake, on March 18th through Ghostly International

The hazy, guitar-driven title track has been floating around for a few months now (check it here if you missed it). Now the producer, real name Scott Hansen, has revealed full details of the record. It arrives three years after his most recent full-length, Dive, an album that offered “the introspection of a room sealed against winter’s bluster,” according to RA’s Derek Miller. As with that LP, Awake will land on Ghostly International. 

01. Awake
02. Montana
03. L
04. Dye
05. See
06. Apogee
07. Spectre
08. Plains

Ghostly International will release Awake on March 18th, 2014.

(via Resident Advisor)