GDD™ Morning Update: Nicolas Jaar, Max Cooper, Theo Parrish, Jamie xx


• Stream Nicolas Jaar’s fantastic John Lennon tribute mix
Max Cooper announces debut album Human, streams first single, “Adrift”
• Theo Parrish joins The Trilogy Tapes
• Listen to Jamie xx‘s first BBC Radio 6 Music mix


Stream Nicolas Jaar’s fantastic John Lennon tribute mix

Nicolas Jaar turns the John Lennon catalogue inside out on a new mix. 

Yesterday marked the 33rd anniversary of John Lennon’s murder at the hands of Mark Chapman. Jaar has noted the occasion with a new mix in Lennon’s honour, titled ‘Our World’.

Jaar’s mix certainly isn’t a conventional tribute session – instead, he uses processed fragments of classic Lennon material (‘Imagine’ included), news reports, and assorted Jaar productions to build a trippy, oneiric hour. Click below to listen/download (and you really should, it’s ace).

Jaar has recently been dedicating himself to his Darkside project, who dropped the prog-minded Psychic LP in October. He’s also recently become commander-in-chief of a new label, Other People.

Earlier this year, Lennon’s childhood home sold at auction for £480,000. The three-bedroom terrace house on Newcastle Road was expected to go for between £150,000 and £250,000, but the final price doubled expectations, with an anonymous American filing the winning bid.

(via FACT Mag)


Max Cooper announces debut album Human, streams first single, “Adrift”

Max Cooper - Human - COVER
Max Cooper will release his highly anticipated debut album Human on FIELDS on 10 March 2014. The album represents an explosive leap into the full-length format for an artist who previously preferred to work in miniature, and a stubborn unwillingness to play the usual electronic music game of copy-me-if-you-can.

Adrift is the first single. Combining the smoky vocal soundings of Belleruche’s Kathrin deBoer with some of Max’s most delicate percussion and sound design yet, Adrift pushes Cooper’s melancholy style to whole new territories of starkly elegant beauty. With a surprisingly heavy, epic Raffertie remix – and a video that shoots deBoer into space – Adrift is out Dec 16. Pre-order here.

Human tracklist:
1. Woven Ancestry
2. Adrift feat Kathrin deBoer
3. Automaton feat BRAIDS
4. Supine
5. Seething
6. Numb feat Kathrin deBoer
7. Impacts
8. Empyrean
9. Apparitions
10. Potency
11. Awakening

Stream ADRIFT:

20 Dec – Club Lehmann, Stuttgart, Germany
21 Dec – Hinterhof, Basel, Switzerland
31 Dec – Artheater, Cologne, Germany
10 Jan – Break Club, Montpellier, France
25 Jan – Club Kyo, Singapore, Singapore
27 Jan – Rainbow Serpent Festival, Lexton -Victoria, Australia
02 Feb – Sunday Roast | La Machine Du Moulin Rouge, Paris, France
07 Feb – Gare Porto, Porto, Portugal
15 Feb – Roest Warehouse, Amsterdam, Netherlands
27 Feb – DIEP | Poppodium 013, Tilburg, Netherlands
28 Feb – Perron, Rotterdam, Netherlands
01 Mar – Flex, Vienna, Austria
05 Mar – Mistral Club, Aix En Provence, France
08 Mar – KB18, Copenhagen, Denmark


Theo Parrish joins The Trilogy Tapes


Theo Parrish will release an EP on The Trilogy Tapes on December 20th.

The news will come as a surprise to many—Will Bankhead has generally focused his label on under-the-radar talent. Parrish’s EP, 71st & Exchange Used To Be…, will be jointly released with the US producer’s own Sound Signature imprint and Palace Skateboards. The 12-inch caps a big year for The Trilogy Tapes, which has put out vinyl releases from Anthony Naples, Tuff Sherm, _moonraker, DJ Spider & Marshallito, Rezzett and Eomac, with a Willie Burns EP on the way. You can watch a teaser video for the EP via the Vimeo player below:


(via Resident Advisor)


Listen to Jamie xx’s first BBC Radio 6 Music mix


The xx percussion/producer begins his residency with a two-hour set.

Earlier this year, Jamie xx — alongside Goldie, Derrick May, Groove Armada, Andrew Weatherall and Erol Alkan — joined BBC Radio 6 Music as part of the station’s Friday 6 Mix show.

Listen to his first set for the station, which includes material by The xx, Four Tet, Todd Edwards, Leon Vynehall, and more. It closes with the producer’s unreleased ‘Sleep Sound’, which cropped up last month. Like his back-to-back set with NTS Radio’s Jon Rust, this one finds Jamie crate-digging through forgotten funk, soul, house, and more.