GDD™ Morning Update: Giorgio Moroder, X Games Music, DJ Koze, Pangaea


Giorgio Moroder plans Vegas stage show, A Night With Giorgio Moroder
• Axwell and Tiesto to headline X Games Music
DJ Koze soundtracks German play
• Pangaea Details Upcoming Mix Album for Fabric


Giorgio Moroder plans Vegas stage show, A Night With Giorgio Moroder

Giorgio Moroder, pioneering producer of electronic pop hits including I Feel Love, Flashdance and Take My Breath Away, is planning a Vegas stage show entitled A Night With Giorgio Moroder.

In an interview with the Guardian – to be shown as a video and in extended form as a Music Weekly podcast special later today – the 73-year-old producer outlined the new project in collaboration with “a huge American management company”. It follows his newfound success as a DJ, and the renewed interest in his work following a collaboration with Daft Punk on their hit album Random Access Memories. He described it as “a permanent show, based on disco … I would do the DJing, but maybe before me we have another famous DJ, maybe somebody after. We of course have a ball, dancers in a cage: recreate Studio 54, and have it in Vegas, Macau, London.

“Of course I wouldn’t just use my own songs – there are so many great disco songs, Chic and all those guys – and I would do probably an hour and a half. We’re thinking of starting first in Vegas [but] it will probably be a bit like Blue Man Group – they have a franchise. We might even talk to the Cirque De Soleil team.

“I would be playing, and then maybe later on if we had a franchise I would do one a week, or a month, and then a famous DJ would take over. And now you have so many great DJs that I don’t think there would be any problem finding the right one.”

Asked whether there would be a narrative to the extravaganza, Moroder replied: “Maybe, maybe not. If we would have a narrative like Mamma Mia, that’s a whole project that takes a year or two – [whereas] this could be done in a few months. The songs are there – maybe the first song would be [Donna Summer’s] Love To Love You Baby, or [Hues Corporation’s] Rock The Boat, which everybody says is the first disco song. But I don’t think we’re going to listen to the lyrics and create a story.”

(via The Guardian)


Axwell and Tiesto to headline X Games Music


If you like your dance music mixed with high-flying winter sports, then we have good news for you.

Axwell (pictured) and Tiësto have just announced that they will be headlining X Games Music, an outdoor concert set to coincide with this year’s Winter X Games in Aspen, Colorado.

The announcement continues X Games’ flirtation with dance music as last year’s inaugural concert featured performances by Calvin Harris and Major Lazer, while X Games Barcelona featured a performance by Zedd.

In addition to Tiësto and Axwell, Phoenix and Matt & Kim will also be performing, albeit on a separate day.

Tickets for the concert, which will take place January 26 at Wagner Park in Aspen, are on sale now and available here.

(via Mixmag)


DJ Koze soundtracks German play


DJ Koze has soundtracked a new play called Autostück, Belgrader Hund.

The production, directed by Stefan Pucher and written by Anne Habermehl, is being promoted by Schauspielhaus Stuttgart. There’s one catch, though: the performance takes place in a car, and can only be viewed by three people at a time. A summary on the Schauspielhaus website says two actors sit in the front of the car while the audience sits in the back. The backdrop is the city of Stuttgart (“the real hero is the city itself,” says the site). It’s likened to “a road movie [somewhere] between Brinkmann and Lynch.” We’re not sure exactly how Koze’s music features in the play—maybe through the car stereo? The production comes eight months on from Koze’s most recent album, Amygdala.

(via Resident Advisor)


Pangaea Details Upcoming Mix Album for Fabric


After slyly leaking the artwork for his upcoming mix album last week, Hessle Audio co-owner Pangaea has sent over the full details of Fabriclive 73. The London DJ/producer will deliver his 27-track offering on January 20 via Fabric, with a selection of music ranging from “the confrontational palettes of Psyk and Shifted” to “the gauzy textures of Lee Gamble and distressed junglism of Pev & Kowton.” Artists like Hodge, Pearson Sound, MGUN, Drum Cell, and Mumdance also appear throughout the mix, as well as an unreleased track from Pangaea himself, and the resulting 76-minute experience is described as being “as visceral as we’ve come to expect from the prodigious youngster, and one that exemplifies the fiercely unique approach he’s taken towards his work thus far.” A launch party for the mix album is scheduled for February 21 at Fabric. Ahead of its release early next year, Fabriclive 73’s artwork and tracklist can be found below.

01. Pangaea – Recreational Slumming
02. Lee Gamble – Plos 97s
03. Reeko – Momentum
04. Hodge – Resolve
05. Shifted – Untitled B2
06. Mystica Tribe – His Temple
07. Manni Dee – Romantic Self
08. Tripeo – Untitled #5
09. MGUN – Blunt Run
10. The Sun God – Maum
11. Stenny & Andrea – SEA (The Time Gate)
12. Psyk – Arcade
13. Mumdance & MAO – Truth
14. Adam Jay – Refraction
15. Pearson Sound – Starburst
16. Kobosil – Osmium
17. Pev & Kowton – End Point
18. Forward Strategy Group – Clean Neckline
19. Speedy J – Something For Your Mind (Exposure Remix)
20. Bleaching Agent – 37ml
21. Truncate – Bodega V2
22. Marco Shuttle – I Wanna Dance… In Outer Space
23. Drumcell – Disturbance (Pfirter Remix II)
24. Imaginary Softwoods – Crystal Pond
25. Alex Falk – PTR
26. Oscar Mulero – 46 (Antaganists Mix)
27. Astronomical Telegram – Near-Heart Object (Stanislav Tolkachev Heavy and Unusual Remix)

(via XLR8R)