GDD™ Morning Update: Young Turks, H.O.S.H., Disclosure, Project: Mooncircle

Young Turks to release 12″ of Sampha and The XX
• Listen to H.O.S.H.‘s essential mix
Disclosure explain removal of ‘Help Me Lose My Mind’ video: “We’re not about glamorizing drugs”
• Project: Mooncircle Readies New Compilation


Young Turks to release 12″ of Sampha and The XX

The xx and Sampha (pictured) are set to release a split 12″ single on Young Turks later this month.

Dropping on October 28, the EP will feature ‘Without’ from Sampha’s latest EP ‘Dual’ and bonus track ‘Reconsider’ from ‘Coexist’ by The xx.

Only 750 copies of the limited edition vinyl will be made and you can pre-order it at the Young Turks website now.

Grab yourself a copy here.

(via Mixmag)


Listen to H.O.S.H.’s essential mix

H.O.S.H., real name Holger Behn, brought the heat last night on the Essential Mix.

The German DJ and producer is the man behind Hamburg’s Diynamic Music along with Solomun, and much of his mix reflected that as he chucked in tracks from those circles and further afield too.

As well as releasing via Diynamic, H.O.S.H. has unleashed his music through labels such as Strictly Rhythm, Dessous and Get Physical.

Behn has also held down residencies at Berlin’s Watergate, Amsterdam’s Studio 80 and Sankeys in Ibiza, and he has plenty of dates in the coming future all across Europe.

Listen to the Essential Mix from H.O.S.H. here.

(via Mixmag)


Disclosure explain removal of ‘Help Me Lose My Mind’ video: “We’re not about glamorizing drugs”

The Lawrence brothers defend their possibly-or-possibly-not drug-fuelled video.

The video for Disclosure’s latest single, ‘Help Me Lose My Mind’, survived just a few hours online last week before the their label PMR decided to remove it following complaints that its scenes of pie-eyed teenagers on a night out in London were glamorising drug use.

Explaining the decision in an interview with Revolt TV, Disclosure said they disagreed with the accusations but never intended to offend anyone.

“The video doesn’t contain any drug using,” said Guy Lawrence. “People were thinking that people were on drugs in the video, because the video created a sense of euphoria, and people having a good time and connecting, going to a club.”

While the decision was made when they were asleep, they would have done the same thing. “We didn’t want to offend anyone or upset anyone,” he said. “We’re not about glamorising drugs in any way.”

The pair also explained that they’re not too bothered about music videos, and may or may not make a new one for ‘Help Me Lose My Mind’. “I never watch music videos ever,” said Guy. “It’s not something that we really feel passionate about,” added Howard.

Disclosure are currently hotly tipped to pick up the Mercury Prize for their debut album Settle – stream their Radio 1 Essential Mix in full here.

Watch the interview below:

(via FACT Mag)


Project: Mooncircle Readies New Compilation

The latest compilation from Project: Mooncircle, Uprising, is due out next month.

Formed in 2002 in Berlin by Gordon Gieseking, Project: Mooncircle releases productions at the intersection of organic and electronic music. Much of their catalog is made up of artist albums, but they’ve also released a number of compilations focusing on everything from Russian and Japanese homegrown beats to more general roundups of new talent. The latter is what’s in store on Uprising, a typically generous compilation of new music in the label’s milieu. It’s by design that many of the artists won’t look familiar—the label describes the compilation as a pack of wild stallions all trying to break away from the herd—but a few, like Robot Koch and Sieren, have released through Project: Mooncircle before. The compilation spreads 33 tracks across three slabs of purple vinyl and features handmade, silk-screened artwork.

01. IIIII (Five Eyes) – Humdrum
02. KRTS – Bonehead
03. Sieren – Escape
04. my.head – Counting
05. FiJi & Long Arm – Reunion
06. Kidkanevil & Daisuke Tanabe – Wanju
07. Hanami – Ribbons
08. Julien Mier – Everything Is Illuminated
09. Deft – Maybes
10. submerse – Glazed
11. opti – Springs
12. Den5hion – Piel de Leopardo
13. Tom Day & Monsoonsiren – Elegiac
14. Tendts – After The Bliss
15. Thriftworks – Die gracefully feat. DH the Mythicalifornian
16. PYUR x Rain Dog – Walk Away
17. Daixie – Huxley
18. Fau&Deam – Franz Deam Re-edit
19. Jean du Voyage – Rise & Appears feat. Djéla & Pierre Harmegnies
20. Robot Koch – Heads Up
21. Robert Valsinger – Pip Till
22. Blossom – The Longest Journey
23. Neema – Goodbye
24. Tomika – Fall In Springtime
25. How Green – Flat Faced
26. Drogtech – Around The Corner
27. Bruises – Charcoal
28. Night Logic – Unkleness
29. Deep Shoq – Lights Down
30. Stèv – Paint Me Like The Sky
31. Cass. – Jet Stream feat. Anna Marjamäki
32. Vitrion – Elevators
33. MockSun – In Visions

Project: Mooncircle will release Uprising on November 1st, 2013.

(via Resident Advisor)