GDD™ Morning Update: Boys Noize, Disclosure/Rudimental, Om Unit, Native Instruments

Boys Noize embarks on world tour
Disclosure and Rudimental nominated for Mercury Prize
Om Unit Announces Debut Album for Civil
• Native Instruments updates Kontrol S4 ans S2


Boys Noize embarks on world tour

Boys Noize will be going on the road this fall on a massive world tour.

The tour kicks off September 6 in Berlin at the Berlin Festival and then continues through Europe and into North America before coming to an end in Brisbane, Australia on December 8.

No supporting acts have been announced yet, but it’s safe to assume that some labelmates from Boysnoize Records will be joining the German DJ on the tour.

Check out the full list of tour dates below.


(via Mixmag)


Disclosure and Rudimental nominated for Mercury Prize

Dance music is heavily represented in this year’s Barclaycard Mercury Prize with Disclosure and Rudimental (pictured) among the shortlist of nominations for Album Of The Year.

Both acts have had a successful 2013, hitting the UK Number One spot with respective albums ‘Settle’ and ‘Home’.

Other electronic acts joining them are Jon Hopkins with his fourth album ‘Immunity’ and James Blake with ‘Overgrown’, his second inclusion after his self-titled debut in 2011.

The winner of the prize will be announced at the awards show on October 30.

See the full list of nominations below:

Arctic Monkeys – ‘AM’
David Bowie – ‘The Next Day’
Disclosure – ‘Settle’
Foals – ‘Holy Fire’
James Blake – ‘Overgrown’
Jake Bugg – ‘Jake Bugg’
Jon Hopkins – ‘Immunity’
Laura Marling – ‘Once I Was An Eagle’
Laura Mvula – ‘Sing To The Moon’
Rudimental – ‘Home’
Savages – ‘Silence Yourself’
Villagers – ‘{Awayland}’

(via Mixmag)


Om Unit Announces Debut Album for Civil

Ever-restless producer Om Unit (a.k.a. Jim Coles) just released his own take on the classic drum & bass sound with Grey Skies Over Chicago for Goldie’s Metalheadz label, and now, the Londoner has announced that he is set to release his debut LP via Civil. Threads’ 14 tracks are said to be influenced by an array of genres—including hip-hop, dubstep, and a variety of jungle permutations—the effects of which are said to outline Coles’ own musical journey with a balance of both introspective and energetic moments. Om Unit’s album also features guest appearances from the likes of Jinadu, Young Echo affiliate Jabu, and the enigmatic Gone The Hero. Threads is set for release on October 28, but before then, its tracklist and artwork can be viewed below.

1. Folding Shadows
2. The Silence (feat. Jinadu)
3. Healing Rain
4. Jus Sayin’ (feat. Gone The Hero)
5. Drift Interlude
6. Reverse Logic
7. Corridor 2013
8. Nagual
9. Patients (feat. MC Jabu)
10. Deep Sea Pyramid
11. Wall of Light
12. Jaguar
13. Wicker and Pearl
14. Governer’s Bay
15. The Road (feat. Charlie Dark)

(via XLR8R)


Native Instruments updates Kontrol S4 ans S2

Native Instruments has announced updated versions of their Kontrol interfaces.

The Kontrol S4 and S2—four- and two-channel devices, respectively—are designed for use with NI’s popular Traktor digital DJing system. As before, these function as controllers for the software, DJ mixers and 24-bit/96-kHz sound cards. There’s plenty new here, however. The design has been tweaked, with “aircraft-grade aluminum plates” added to the jog wheels and new buttons corresponding to some of Traktor Pro’s updated features. Eight multifunction buttons on the front are of the same multicolor variety that’s been popping up on lots of NI hardware of late. The S4 and S2 are also now ready for use with Traktor DJ, NI’s iOS DJ system. Both come with the full version of Traktor Pro 2 included. No word yet on a release date, but in the meantime, you can check out the systems in action in the video above.

Native Instruments will release the S4 and S2 for a suggested retail price of $799 and $499, respectively.
(via Resident Advisor)