GDD™ Morning Update: Disclosure, Fatboy Slim, Ghostly

• Listen: Disclosure dig deep on the Essential Mix
• Fatboy Slim turned down chance to judge on Simon Cowell’s DJ TV show
Ghostly readies new SMM compilation


Listen: Disclosure dig deep on the Essential Mix

One of the most-anticipated editions of the Essential Mix in 2013, this weekend saw Disclosure slip into DJ mode for two hours. Introduced by host Pete Tong as “probably the hottest duo in dance and electronic music” right now, the brothers might be a live act first and foremost, but they can deliver as selectors too.

Citing the likes of SkreamBengaJames BlakeMount KimbieFloating Points and Joy Orbison as the inspirations that led them into making music, this mix – in Disclosure’s own words – covers “a mixture of all our influences, everything from American hip hop to house music to techno to garage”. The Essential Mix opens with a segment that nods to J Dilla and Detroit, and features new music from the likes of DuskyNew York Transit Authority and Breach.

Following the runaway success of debut album Settle and its big moments like “White Noise”, “Latch” and “When A Fire Starts To Burn”, Disclosure is currently in the thick of an intensive tour of the Northern summer. Check out their run on the Essential Mix below. How’d they do?


Onra – Intro [All City Dublin]
Slum Village – Players [Good Vibe Recordings]
Gang Starr – Put Up Or Shut Up [Virgin]
Jaylib – React (feat. Quasimoto) [Stones Throw]
Q-Tip – Let’s Ride [Arista]
Vic Mensa – Orange Soda
Moodymann – U Ranaway
Linkwood – Secret Value [Shevchenko]
Mike Huckaby – Melodies From The Jazz Republic / I Get Deeper (Acapella) [Still Music]
[unknown] – J.A.W.S.
Trankilou – Bill Collector [BPM Records]
T. Williams – Three Letters [PMR]
Bassjackers & Apster – Klambu [Sneakerz MUZIK]
Dusky – Sunsets & Dolphins
Midland – Archive [Graded]
Mark Henning – Trojan [Cityfox]
Ten Walls – Gotham [Innervisions]
Disclosure – When A Fire Starts To Burn [PMR]
Rachel Row – Follow The Step (Breach Hood Remix) [Defected]
New York Transit Authority – 95′
Soul Purpose – Sublim3 [Lo:Rise]
Friend Within – The Scene [Method Records]
Paul Woolford – Untitled
Hannah Wants – Teardrop On The Fire
GoldFfinch – Once You Wrap
Adonis & Charles B – Lack Of Love [Desire]
Native Soul – A New Day (Spencer Parker’s A Gun For Hire Remix) (feat. Trey Washington) [Defected]
Eddie Niguel – Absolute [Midnight Shift]
Omar – Feeling You (Henrik Schwarz Remix) [Peppermint Jam]
Hauswerks – Puppet Factory [Moda Black]
Disclosure – Latch (Maddslinky Remix) (feat. Sam Smith)

(via inthemix)


Fatboy Slim turned down chance to judge on Simon Cowell’s DJ TV show

Remember the reality TV show for DJs that Simon Cowell cooked up? The one that got axed after he ran into trouble with a production company and got slated by every DJ going? Well, turns out Fatboy Slim turned down an offer from the dark overlord of pop to become a judge on the show.

Our Norman was adamant in turning the job down and made sure Cowell knew he wanted no part in the show.

Talking to The Sun, he said: “As dance music gets taken over by people like Cowell it becomes about being famous and money, the nasty side which I think for years it was relatively free of. Kids grow up thinking to be a DJ, you’ve got to be sexy and bling… It’s not about that. I’m glad that’s one bandwagon he didn’t jump on.”

Fatboy then sent out a message to Cowell, saying: “Please don’t do it. It’ll ruin it for the rest of us.”

Good job it’s been canned then.

(via Mixmag)


Ghostly readies new SMM compilation

Ghostly International will release SMM: Opiate on October 28th.

The SMM tag has historically been used by the Ann Arbor label to denote more ambient or experimental work, including a few various artists vinyl samplers in the early 2000s. In 2011 Ghostly rejuvenated the brand and released a full compilationunder its banner (subtitled Context)—and Opiate is the second in this series. Like the previous instalment, it’s a mixture of “classical minimalism, electronic and drone composition, film soundtracks and fragile imaginary landscapes,” according to the press release.

Context introduced a handful of artists from outside the label’s usual remit, and so does Opiate, with contributions from Norwegian duo Pjusk, Leeds artist Fieldhead, prolific Tokyo outfit Celer and composers A Winged Victory For The Sullen, among others.

01. Simon Scott – Water Shadow
02. A Winged Victory For The Sullen – Ti Prego Memory Man
03. Celer – Nothing So Mystical
04. Black Swan – Passings, Heartbreak
05. Jim Haynes – This is Radio Sweden
06. EN – White
07. Pjusk – Dorsk
08. Fieldhead – 37th
09. Noveller – Bright Clouds Bloom

Ghostly International will release SMM: Opiate on October 28th, 2013.

(via Resident Advisor)