GDD™ Morning Update: Hot Natured, MTV VMAs, Nicolas Jaar, Trentemoller

Hot Natured album due September says Jamie Jones
• Skrillex, Calvin Harris, and Zedd grab MTV nominations for VMAs
• Nicolas Jaar mints “serial label” Other People with new compilation Trust
Trentemoller to release new album ‘Lost’ in September


Hot Natured album due September says Jamie Jones

With a string of live dates under their belt, Jamie Jones and the Hot Natured gang are about to unleash their debut album to the world.

After playing massive shows at Brixton Academy, Glastonbury and Sonar, the four piece have now finished the album and are preparing for its release.

Speaking exclusively to Mixmag at Balaton Sound in Hungary, Jamie Jones talked about the LP’s imminent release: “The album’s coming out the first week of the September and we handed in the masters last week. We had too many tracks but managed to squeeze about 15 onto the album with only like 30 seconds to spare.”

He also spoke about the live process and how he’s made the transition from DJ to live band member: “The first few shows we did at Brixton Academy were the most nerve-wracking things I’ve ever done. It’s really cool, in a way it’s easier because I know all of the songs, I don’t have to get any of the music ready, we have a set amount of songs and the more I do it the more confident I get playing my bass parts.”

The LP, titled ‘Different Sides Of The Sun’, will drop on September 2 and will be accompanied by new single ‘Isis (Magic Carpet Ride)’. Hear the tune below and see the tracklist for the album, too.

The ‘Different Sides Of The Sun’ track list is as follows:

‘Different Sides Of The Sun’

1. Operate (feat. Kenny Glasgow)
2. Isis
3. Reverse Skydiving (feat. Anabel Englund)
4. Different Sides
5. Benediction
6. Forward Motion
7. People Change (feat. S.Y.F)
8. Take You There
9. Planet Us
10. Tightrope
11. Mercury Rising (feat. Anabel Englund)
12. Alternate State (feat. Roisin Murphy)
13. Detroit
14. Physical Control
15. Emerald City (feat. Anabel Englund)

(via Mixmag)


Skrillex, Calvin Harris, and Zedd grab MTV nominations for VMAs

Several EDM stars, including Calvin Harris, Skrillex and Zedd, have earned nominations for this year’s MTV Video Music Awards.

Calvin Harris was nominated for Best Collaboration with Ellie Goulding for ‘I Need Your Love’, while Skrillex’s ‘Breakn’ A Sweat’ (featuring the Doors) earned a nod for Best Visual Effects.

Zedd was chosen as an Artist To Watch for ‘Clarity’.

Harris, who won Best Video Of The Year in 2012 for the smash hit ‘We Found Love’ with Rihanna, also earned a nomination for ‘Sweet Nothing’ featuring Florence Welch for Best Editing.

Other dance music artists to gain nominations include A-Trak and Tommy Trash for ‘Tuna Melt’ (Best Cinematography) and Duck Sauce for ‘It’s You’ (Best Visual Effects).

The 2013 MTV video music awards will take place on August 25. For the full list of nominees, clickhere.

(via Mixmag)


Nicolas Jaar mints “serial label” Other People with new compilation Trust

Young producer Nicolas Jaar has announced that he is to scrap his Clown & Sunset imprint in favour of the brand new Other People label. Launching in September with a compilation entitledTrust, the imprint is described by Jaar as a “serial label”, ”Like a magazine, we deliver new content each week. Every Sunday, our members receive a new issue.”

Whether this promise will be kept remains to be seen, but it looks at least like Jaar has some prime talent on board. Unsurprisingly many of the Clown & Sunset crew return – Nikita Quasim, Valentin Stip, Acid Pauli are back, and are joined by Jaar’s bandmates Will Epstein and Dave Harrington among a handful of fresh names.

We’ll miss Clown & Sunset, even if only for the fact that they sent us “the most stylish door stop in town“. [via Resident Advisor]


01 Will Epstein – Trust I
02 Nikita Quasim – The Way I Felt Today
03 My Girl & Me – Always Back To You
04 Quentin Pistol – Qè
05 David Terranova – Kinq
06 High Water – Railroad Song
07 Benjha – Gravity
08 Acid Pauli – The Gap And The Grip
09 Triangleline – Chronon And Echo
10 Valentin Stip – Temple
11 Nicolas Jaar – Break My Love
12 Dave Harrington Remix Feat. Tamara – Why Didn’t You Save Me
13 Will Epstein – Trust II

Trust will be released on CD, vinyl and digital on September 2 via Other People.

(via FACT Mag)


Trentemoller to release new album ‘Lost’ in September

Mark September 23 in your diary, kids, because that’s when Danish electronica maestroTrentemoller will make his third album, entitled Lost, available to the world. The product of “endless months of studio isolation”, the album follows acclaimed predecessors Into The Great Wide Yonderand The Last Resort.

A logical extension of his work and, as the official spiel puts it, a “great big fuck you to whatever genre you thought you had him boxed into”, Lost retains the producer’s love of combining ambient and organic sounds with club-ready moves, but avoids falling into the trap of sounding the same as the rest of his work. “People wanted something similar to the last album, but if you’re getting to the point of listening to people and what they think of your sound…Well, that’s not for me,” the producer writes.

Boasting twelve tracks that are said to be more streamlined and structured than the cinematic and sprawling Into The Great Wide Yonder, the album features a bevy of collaborators, from personal influences to burgeoning talent. Just to name a few, we can expect the likes of Kazu Makino fromBlonde RedheadGhost SocietyLow and Jana Hunter from Lower Dens to add their unique touches to the record.

Lost will be released worldwide on September 23, 2013. Check out the full tracklisting below.

01. The Dream (feat. Low)
02. Gravity (feat. Jana Hunter of Lower Dens)
03. Still On Fire
04. Candy Tongue (feat. Marie Fisker)
05. Trails
06. Never Stop Running (feat. Jonny Pierce of The Drums)
07. River Of Life (feat. Ghost Society)
08. Morphine
09. Come Undone (feat. Kazu Makino of Blonde Redhead)
10. Deceive (feat. Sune Rose Wagner of The Raveonettes)
11. Constantinople
12. Hazed

(via inthemix)