GDD™ Morning update: Breach, Tomorrowland, Flux Pavilion, Sunset Records

• Listen to Breach’s Essential Mix
Tomorrowland reveals theme
Flux Pavillion calls it quits on social media
• Early Chicago house label, Sunset Records, celebrated with a new compilation

Listen to Breach’s Essential Mix 

Last night on BBC Radio 1’s Essential Mix show it was the turn of underground producer Breach, who is also known as Ben Westbeech.

Breach runs his own label Naked Naked, and his latest single ‘Jack’ is currently being played in clubs and on radio the world over.

Westbeech’s Essential Mix encapsulates his jacking house sound, and includes material from Paul Woolford, Deetron and New York Transit Authority.

Listen again to the two hour mix here.


(via Mixmag)


Tomorrowland reveals 2013 theme, The Arising of Life 

Image for Tomorrowland reveals 2013 theme, The Arising Of Life

In typically grandiose Tomorrowland style, the festival has announced its theme for this year’s fast-approaching edition via a fairytale video. The theming is watched closely, as it is likely to reveal the vision for the stage design. This year, it’s The Arising Of Life. You can watch the video at the bottom of this article.

Are you one of the lucky 180,000-odd ticket buyers making the Tomorrowland pilgrimage in 2013? Well, the Belgian festival behemoth also recently announced its extensive set times for the July weekender, and we’ve formatted them all here in one easy-to-scroll place. Over three days in the Belgian town of Boom this July, a cast of the biggest names from every corner of dance music will come together at De Schorre National Park, including Tiesto, Hardwell, Sebastian Ingrosso, Avicii, Armin van Buuren and on Sunday, a three-man DJ set from Afrojack, Nicky Romero and David Guetta.

Aside from the Main Stage, these set times might bring the pain for anyone who wants to take it all in. The Carl Cox and Friends arena sees the big man joined by Loco Dice, John Digweed, Marco Carola and more, Markus Schulz does a 12-hour marathon set on the Friday, Q-dance has its dedicated corner of the festival for the hard dance fanatics, and there’s dedicated arenas for trance, dubstep, house and techno.

Then in September, ID&T is heading to Chattahoochee Hills, a 40-minute drive from Georgia’s capital Atlanta, for the first TomorrowWorld festival in the U.S. Some of the top-tier names from the European event will be crossing the Atlantic to go large again on the weekend of 27, 28 and 29 September. As ID&T announced, “the site is the property of a Belgian who is ready to receive TomorrowWorld with open arms and unparalleled hospitality”. Full Madness passes to TomorrowWorld are still on-sale.


(via In The Mix)


Flux Pavilion quits all social media


Flux Pavilion has announced that he is quitting all social media.

In a post on Facebook (oh, the irony) Flux, aka Joshua Steele, expressed distaste with the current obsession around the constant maintenance and updating that having a notable social media presence requires.

He wrote: “[E]very vine/twitter/instagram fills a space in my life that could be filled with writing music or delving into projects that essentially mean a lot more than a bunch of likes on website I don’t really care about. What I do care about is writing music and the people that music means something to, if that is you then thanks for getting me where I am today”.

Since then, that original post has been deleted and Flux has updated it with another that he believes clarifies his previous statement a bit.

“Giving up is a strong term to use…social media is great,” he said, adding “but I think there is a truth in the fact that my output as a musician is how I choose to present myself, I want to dedicate my mental space to making sure that my music is the best it can be.”

It remains to be seen if Flux is quitting social media altogether or just taking a small break from it.


(via Mixmag)

Early Chicago House Label Sunset Records Celebrated on new compilation 

House archivists Still Music have announced another compilation of Chicago four-on-the-floor.

The two-disc set looks back at the key releases on Sunset Records, a label active from 1985 to 1989, including tracks from label founders Matt Warren, Ralphi Rosario and Miguel Garcia under his alias Michaelangelo.

Kill Yourself Dancing: The Story Of Sunset Records Inc Chicago 1985-89 is a precursor to another recently announced archive release from Still Music focusing on the label Warren went on to found in 1987, AKA Dance Music.

The set will arrive on 2xCD and 2xLP on 20 August, and will come packaged with liner notes telling the full story of the label’s history. [via RA]

Listen to the album’s handclap-heavy title track by Razz feat. Matt Warren & Ralphi Rosario:


01 Razz feat. Matt Warren & Ralphi Rosario – Kill Yourself Dancing
02 Modern Mechanical Music – Persia
03 Master Plan – Electric Baile (Commercial Mix)
04 White Knight – It Could Be Acid
05 Ben Mays – Jail Bait
06 Hex Complexx – I Want You – Suite (The Dash Riprock Mix)
07 Michaelangelo – You Can Do It
08 White Knight – White Knight Jacks Club Mix
09 Razz feat. Matt Warren & Ralphi Rosario – Razz-Matazz
10 Boom Boom & Master Plan – Face The Music (Club Mix)
11 Razz feat. Matt Warren & Ralphi Rosario – Pump It Up

01 Matt Warren – The Way To My Heart (Club Mix)
02 Kajsa – Try Try Again House Mix
03 White Knight – Demons A Mix 4U
04 Modern Mechanical Music – Doo Doo Da
05 Razz Feat. Matt Warren & Ralphi Rosario – Say It
06 Boom Boom & Master Plan – Face The Music (Dub Mix)
07 White Knight – Yo Baby Yo (Mix 1)
08 Master Plan – Electric Baile (Large Dub)
09 White Knight – Acid Dub
10 Matt Warren – Rock The Nation (Remixed By Kenny Jason)

(via Fact)