GDD™ Morning Update: Soulwax, Boards of Canada, Four Tet, Richy Ahmed

Soulwax cancel shows in order to finish new album
Boards of Canada debut new video in Tokyo
• Watch Four Tet Detail His Live Set-Up
Richy Ahmed mixes Rinse:23

Soulwax cancel shows in order to finish new album

Soulwax have cancelled their slots at Secret Garden Party and Sonar but 2manydjs will stand in for the band at both events.

The news was revealed in a message that 2Manydjs posted to their Facebook profile:

“We’ve decided to postpone our Soulwax shows over the summer so we can get our new record properly finished and have it ready for release soon. Sorry to all of you who were looking forward to seeing us but we’d rather give you a good show and a good album than rushed versions of both. The good news is 2manydjs will replace some of the shows. We look forward to seeing you all this summer!”

Secret Garden Party and Sonar have also tweeted to confirm the news and announcements have appeared on their respective websites.

2manydjs are, of course, David and Stephen Dewaele, two members of the Soulwax band, so it makes sense for them to stand in.

(via Mixmag)


Boards of Canada debut new video in Tokyo

Electronic Music’s Most Mysterious Group™ showed a video last night at Tokyo’s Jinnan Shibuya-ku junction. You can now watch the footage back below, and read up on the Tomorrow’s Harvest album campaign, almost definitely the most inventive of the year, here.

(via FACT Mag)


Watch Four Tet Detail His Live Set-Up

Not unlike yesterday’s lengthy pictorial feature in which Mount Kimbie explained how its studio set-up was transformed for live performance, a video of UK producer Kieran Hebden (a.k.a. Four Tet) detailing the inner workings of his own stage rig to a small class at Red Bull Music Academy has hit the internet today. Come to find out, the basics of his onstage gear are rather straightforward. Hebden is essentially splitting up his Ableton set into various channels, sending them into his mixer, and adding his own nuanced tweaks on the fly with FX processors, controllers, and even a second computer. Despite the relative simplicity, it’s an interesting and informative session with one of the strongest producers and performers working in electronic music today.

(via XLR8R)


Richy Ahmed mixes Rinse:23

Details of Richy Ahmed’s Rinse:23 mix have been revealed.

The London-based artist will follow Kode9 in the London radio station’s long-running mix series. He describes his 19-track selection as a “snapshot of what my club sets are like.” Rinse:23 pulls together tracks from Outboxx, Danny Tenaglia, Kim Ann Foxman and Subb-an, plus a few of Ahmed’s own tracks and remixes.

“The thing I look for in every track, that’s universal in every type of music that I play—I look for the groove,” Ahmed says. “I like it jacking, I like energy. It’s all just got to have that thing in it that makes my head nod and my hips swing, you know? It’s the drums that get me. I love the way that drums fit with the bass, whether it’s a tiny ripple of sub-bass or a big kick in a techno track, or live disco drums, it doesn’t matter—it’s the way they sit together and talk to each other.”

A press release from Rinse says that Ahmed’s mix marks a shift in the series. “Where previous instalments have featured only DJs who regularly play on the station at time of release, in future the mix series is set to cast its net wider,” it reads. “Future installments will also feature DJs who are respected pioneers or important new artists within the sounds and scenes that Rinse plays and represents.”

01. Outboxx – Sunshine Mills
02. Demarzo – Draw The Line (Jingling Mix)
03. Les Cerveaux Lents – Tribute To Chicago
04. Jey Kurmis – Francis
05. Chaos In The CBD – Slab
06. Hot Natured – Reverse Skydiving feat. Anabel Englund (Tom Shorterz Remix)
07. Mark Jenkyns – Mind Dust
08. Danny Tenaglia – Read My Lips feat. Lula
09. Richy Ahmed – Your Love
10. Chris Lattner & East End Dubs – Nut Cracker
11. Kim Ann Foxman – Creature (Richy Ahmed Remix)
12. Vaal – Cine (Tale Of Us & Luca Cazal Remix)
13. Tanka – Salwa
14. Waff – Body Ice
15. Subb-an – Cloak & Dagger
16. Jey Kurmis – Lil Nic French
17. Michael Janson – All I Give
18. Lake People – Point In Time
19. Phonique feat. Erlend Oye – For The Time Being (Burnski Remix)

Rinse will release Rinse:23 on July 1st, 2013.

(via Resident Advisor)