GDD™ Morning Upate: James Blake, Maceo Plex, Zombie Disco Squad, Close

James Blake inaugurates the 1-800-Dinosaur label with new single; may be collaborating with Kendrick Lamar
Maceo Plex goes to the “Galactic Cinema”
• Zombie Disco Squad mixes Classic Through The Eyes Of
• Will Saul to release debut album as Close


James Blake inaugurates the 1-800-Dinosaur label with new single; may be collaborating with Kendrick Lamar

James Blake will inaugurate the new 1-800-Dinosaur label with a 12″ single.

1-800-Dinosaur started life as a club night in London’s Plastic People, with Blake, his manager / former R&S label manager Dan Foat and a collection of friends at the helm. The label will launch in late April with a dub version of ‘Voyeur’ from Blake’s new album Overgrown, and a non-album track ‘And Holy Ghost’ on the B-Side. You can watch the video for ‘Voyeur’ below.

The news comes in an interview between Foat and Juno Plus, in which Foat explains that ‘Voyeur’ first “came about through James developing an interest in house music at our Plastic People events”, and that the label’s initial focus is “to release forward thinking music, based around the people already involved with the label or our friends”. He also mentions that team Blake have been discussing a potential collaboration with Kendrick Lamar to be released through 1-800-Dinosaur and Top Dawg Entertainment, but emphasises that “it’s pure conjecture at the moment though, as everyone is too busy with touring commitments.”

(via FACT Mag)


Maceo Plex goes to the “Galactic Cinema”

Maceo Plex’s forthcoming mix for the DJ-Kicks series is a real beauty and ahead of its release the US producer has unleashed a brand new track.

‘Galactic Cinema’ is exclusive to Plex’s DJ-Kicks, which is out this month.

The compilation runs to 18 tracks and features a bunch of quality house cuts, including original work and remixes from Plex as well as from his Maetrik guise.

You can hear ‘Galactic Cinema’ below, it’s a classic example of the steely, tech-house sound that Plex has pioneered.

(via Mixmag)


Zombie Disco Squad mixes Classic Through The Eyes Of

Zombie Disco Squad has mixed the latest instalment of Classic Through The Eyes Of.

Due out April 29th, the mix arrives a year on from the release of London producer Nat Self’s debut album, Brains. He’s next in line for the Through The Eyes Of series, which invites DJs to create a mix from the archives of Classic, the imprint helmed by Derrick Carter and Luke Solomon. Previous editions have come from the likes of Horse Meat Disco’s Severino and Matt Tolfrey. For this instalment, Self has chosen from the more playful end of the label’s catalogue, including tracks from Eddie C and Prztz. In addition to a number of his own edits and reworks, the compilation also features new remixes from Claude VonStroke and Jesse Rose. Classic Through The Eyes Of: Zombie Disco Squad will only be released digitally.

01 The Hue – The Calling (Eddie C remix)
02. Nail – Slap My Ass
03. Prztz – Phonk Promises
04. Jean Caffine – Jean’s Train Of Thought (Zombie Disco Squad Power edit)
05. Rob Mello – In Da Bush (No Ears Dub)
06. Justin Martin & Sammy D – Cats And Dogs (Claude VonStroke’s Classic re-edit) 07. MarcAshken feat. SOS – Cat Walk (Zombie Disco Squad Sleazy Ze remix)
08. Joshua – Q (Zombie Disco Squad edit)
09. Roy Davis Jr – About Love (Solid Groove remix) (Jesse Rose Nuff Love Edit)
10. Induceve – Time To Begin (Zombie Disco Squad remix)
11. Style Of Eye – Back Then (Zombie Disco Squad edit)
12. Style Of Eye – Run Things
13. The Narcoleptic – Saturday
14. Rekid – Ill Discotto

Classic will release Classic Through The Eyes Of: Zombie Disco Squad on April 29th, 2013.

(via Resident Advisor)


Will Saul to release debut album as Close

Full details of Will Saul‘s first album under the Close alias have been revealed. 

Initially an anonymous project, last year Saul revealed that he was the producer behind Close. Getting Closer will be the Somerset-based producer’s second full-length, following 2005’s Space Between, which was released under his own name. It will see release through !K7, and features several collaborations with the likes ofOctoberAppleblimScuba, Joe Dukie of Fat Freddys Drop and Fink, who also appeared on Saul’s debut album. The LP also contains one remix, with Tanner Rossand Slow Hands‘s version of “My Way” appearing instead of the original.

“I was getting closer to the people involved in the album while getting closer to the sound of the album I had in my head,” says Saul. “Writing music with someone can be a very intimate and rewarding process, or it can be really hard work and emotionally draining, or none of the above—either way you learn about yourself and the other person involved.” The album will be preceded by a single release of “Beam Me Up,” which features Charlene Soraia and Scuba, due out April 22nd. Saul debuted the Close audio-visual show at fabric in February, with a live performance featuring Al Tourettes on drums.

01. I Died 1000 Times feat. Charlene Soraia & October
02. Oscar
03. My Way feat. Joe Dukie (Tanner Ross & Slow Hands remix)
04. Cubizm
05. Born In A Rolling Barrel feat. Tikiman, October & Appleblim
06. Time Fades
07. Wallflower feat. Fink
08. Future Love
09. Beam Me Up feat. Charlene Soraia & Scuba
10. Inside

!K7 will release Getting Closer on June 3rd, 2013.

(via Resident Advisor)