GDD™ Morning Update: Swedish House Mafia, Holy Ship!, Flying Lotus, Mount Kimbie

• Stream Swedish House Mafia‘s Final Show
• Watch: Holy Ship! 2014 upsizes to world’s most epic party boat
• Flying Lotus and Thundercat working with Herbie Hancock?
Mount Kimbie announce new album Cold Spring Fault Less Youth


Stream Swedish House Mafia’s Final Show

Swedish House Mafia played their last show at Ultra Music Festival at the weekend.

The date completed the trio’s One Last Tour, which saw them play gigs across the globe.

As with the rest of the sets at Ultra, the Swedes’ gig was streamed live on YouTube and an audio recording has now appeared on SoundCloud.

Hear Swedish House Mafia bow out in fine style below. Though don’t rule out a reunion….

It’s also been revealed that Ultra 2014 will take place on March 28-30.

(via Mixmag)


Watch: Holy Ship! 2014 upsizes to world’s most epic party boat

Right now, Destructo and his HARD Events crew is deep in Miami Music Week, presenting back-to-back nights at Grand Central with a huge cast of regulars (think BrodinskiGesaffelsteinA-TrakRL GrimeFlume and more) and a ‘Beach Party’ with the likes of BaauerSkreamJesse Rose andFelix Da Housecat.

In amongst the madness, Destructo announced plans during his set at Grand Central for a bigger, better and all-round more unhinged Holy Ship! in 2014. The party will be moving to the MSC Divina, a cruise liner that looks, well, epic. Massive decks, a real stone piazza, a Broadway-sized theatre, water-slides, gleaming halls, luxurious pools: it’s all here. And the ship is ‘inspired by Sophia Loren herself’, apparently.

No one was surprised when the 2014 pre-bookings for Holy Ship! sold out instantly. Three days on a luxury liner cruising the Caribbean while a rollcall of big name DJs do their thing ‘til dawn isn’t, after all, very hard to sell. So if you’re one of the lucky punters to secure your ticket to the very limited capacity festival, check out how you will be rolling below – or try your luck with the wait-list. After all, the capacity of the MSC Divina is a step up from the 2013 vessel, MSC Poesia.

No line-up has been announced yet (after all, it’s still a way off), but expect the regular party pros. 2013 boasted everyone from A-Trak, Major Lazer and Justice to Justin Martin and Claude VonStroke. Just one of the reasons it’s one of our 25 Festivals To Discover Before You Die.

(via inthemix)


Flying Lotus and Thundercat working with Herbie Hancock?

Jazz influences have always been present in Steven ‘Flying Lotus’ Ellison’s work – see the July Heat tape, or 1983‘s jazzy boom-bap – but they’ve sprung to the fore on more recent releases.

Cosmogramma was a wild, adventurous collision of classic fusion and modern beat music, and Until The Quiet Comes showed a continued fascination with late 1970s/early 1980s crossover jazz. Having previously recorded with saxophonist (and cousin) Ravi Coltrane and the late Austin Peralta, it looks like Ellison may be collaborating with a true jazz legend – pianist, composer and fusion pioneer Herbie Hancock.

Ellison has uploaded a short video onto Twitter which shows him, regular partner-in-crime Thundercat and Herbie Hancock messing around together in Hancock’s studio. There’s not much to go on beyond that – the clip is mostly confined to shots of FlyLo and Thundercat looking hyped just to be there – but, if this eventually results in some collaborative tunes, we should be in for something pretty special.

Flying Lotus and Thundercat will tour the US next month; head here for dates.

(via FACT Mag)


Mount Kimbie announce new album Cold Spring Fault Less Youth

Mount Kimbie’s new album, Cold Spring Fault Less Youth, will be released on May 28.

The duo’s first for Warp Records (Scuba’s Hotflush label released their debut album, Crooks & Lovers), it features two collaborations with Rinse-signed crooner King Krule, ‘You Took Your Time’ and ‘Meter, Pale, Tone’.

Speaking to FACT last year, the duo’s Dom Maker explained that “The new stuff is a lot more free than the songs we’ve done before, in terms of composition. It’s still entirely produced on a computer, but the drums and percussion are much more live in their feel, in rhythm and in flow. In terms of the actual sound…it’s quite a bit bigger sounding that what we’ve done before.”

“I think it’s still quite delicate material, but it has a bigger sound compared to the last album, and I think that must be informed really greatly by what we’ve spent the last two years doing – playing live. We’ve actually gone into a studio, and that was a big step. Obviously at first so you’re sort of blinded by the fact that, yes, we’ve got a studio! Because that’s the dream, I guess. But as time goes on, I think we started to long for and miss the way that we did it before – just rolling out of bed and making music, and not having to worry about the logistics of it. It’s all become quite logistical, really…[laughs] But that’s to be expected, we wanted to approach this second album in a different way.”

You can download a track from the album, ‘Made to Stray’, here.

01. Home Recording
02. You Took Your Time (feat. King Krule)
03. Break Well
04. Blood and Form
05. Made To Stray
06. So Many Times, So Many Ways
07. Lie Near
08. Meter, Pale, Tone (feat. King Krule)
09. Slow
10. Sullen Ground
11. Fall Out

(via FACT Mag)