GDD™ Morning Update: Diplo, Art Department, M83, Flying Lotus, Disclosure, Nosaj Thing

Diplo records song with Psy (“Gangnam Style”) and 2 Chainz
Art Department mix Social Experiment 003
• Watch the Video for M83‘s “Wait”, the Sequel to “Midnight City” and “Reunion”
• Watch: Flying Lotus‘ video for “Tiny Tortures”
• Listen: Disclosure’s XLR8R Podcast
• Stream a Brand-New Track from Nosaj Thing

Diplo records song with Psy (“Gangnam Style”) and 2 Chainz

According to his Twitter (and confirmed as true by Pitchfork) Diplo has recorded a song with K-pop viral senstation Psy and comeback rapper of the year 2 Chainz.
No word yet on a release date for the project, but Diplo tweets that “the mayan calendar predicted this,” which is appropriate since this collaboration represents the end of the world to some.

In less controversial news, the divisive producer is also working with AraabMuzik.

(via FACT Mag)


Art Department mix Social Experiment 003

Art Department have mixed Social Experiment 003, due for release in February. 

Social Experiment is a mix series on No.19 Music, the label run by Jonny White, who makes up half of Art Department alongside Kenny Glasgow. For its third edition, the duo have strung together 14 tracks mostly by friends and like-minded artists. Exclusive cuts come from Jamie Jones, My Favorite Robot, Gregorythme and Jackin Rabbit featuring Robert Owens. Tale Of Us deliver an exclusive remix of “Bongo Born” by Fuckpony. Art Department also include two of their own previously unreleased tracks. 

The mix will be the first edition of Social Experiment since Soul Clap’s contribution in 2010. To get an idea of Art Department’s style as DJs, check out this week’s RA Podcast

01. Art Department – Into The Dust Intro
02. Jonny White & Nitin – La Cueva
03. Ali Love – The Jungle (Brigante’s Mix)
04. Luca C. & Brigante feat Robert Owens – Tomorrow Can Wait (Art Department Remix)
05. Jonathan Lee – Senses
06. Foremost Poets – Moonraker (Accapella)
07. Jackin Rabbit feat. Robert Owens – Full Of Dreams
08. Fuckpony – Bongo Born (Tale Of Us Remix)
09. Jamie Jones – Doctor Blue
10. DJ Hell feat. Brian Ferry – U Can Dance (Carl Craig Remix)
11. Art Department, BLUD, Shaun Reeves feat. Damian Lazarus – Robot Heart
12. My Favorite Robot – Not Progress
13. Gregorythme – Artificial Tears
14. Art Department – Insomniac

No.19 Music will release Social Experiment 003 on February 18th, 2013.

(via Resident Advisor)


Watch the Video for M83’s “Wait”, the Sequel to “Midnight City” and “Reunion”

The third and final installment of the collaboration between M83 and directing team Fleur & Manu has arrived. This one’s a video for Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming cut “Wait”, and falls nicely in step with the overarching visual themes of the record– childhood surrealism, huge landscapes, outer space and icy-clear imagery. 

The video, which was faciliated by the Creators Project, follows the clips for “Midnight City”and “Reunion”. “I love composing music with pictures in my head, it’s really what’s driving me,” Anthony Gonzalez wrote on the M83 site. “Cinema is the biggest influence for me– even bigger than music itself, so this album is built as a soundtrack, as an imaginary film. This is what we tried to convey with this trilogy.”

(via Pitchfork)


Watch: Flying Lotus’ video for “Tiny Tortures”


Disclosure’s XLR8R Podcast

As 2012 rapidly comes to a close, it’s obvious that Disclosure has been one of the year’s breakout acts. The youthful UK duo has been on our radar for a while now—we profiled the brotherly outfit in our Bubblin’ Up series back in March—but its recent run of releases, which included “Tenderly” b/w Flow,” The Face EP, and “Latch,” has the pair primed for a proper pop crossover, particularly once its forthcoming full-length debut drops sometime in 2013. Yet even if Disclosure’s biggest impact on the music world is still to come, its influence on 2012 was undeniable; the duo’s refashioning of vintage house and garage tropes into bouncy, vocal-driven gems has not only spawned legions of imitators, but is also indicative of how a significant portion of the electronic-music world has turned its attention to the ’90s when mining for inspiration. In many ways, Disclosure’s music was the sound of 2012, or at least one of them. As such, it’s fitting that the duo would deliver the final XLR8R podcast of the year. Over the course of their hour-long mix, the brothers keep things light, serving up a few exclusives and unreleased cuts along the way. Apart from the meditative opener, the podcast finds Disclosure treading in familiar sonic territory, lacing together hooky, polished tunes with snappily shuffling rhythms, perky synth stabs, and sticky vocal refrains. It’s a a fun listen, and just might tide over the swelling ranks of Disclosure fans through the holiday season.

01 JayLotus “1945”
02 Medlar “Govern” (Wolf)
03 Inner City “Ahnongay” (KMS)
04 Letherette “Warstones” (Ninja Tune)
05 Native Soul feat. Trey Washington “A New Day (Spencer Parker’s a Gun for Hire Remix)” (Defected)
06 Janet Jackson feat. Nelly “Call on Me (Disclosure Bootleg)”
07 Dusky “Dummy”
08 Eli Escobar feat. Lindsey Caldwell “I Believe” (Dither Down)
09 Jordan Peak “Pass the Roach” (Robsoul)
10 Disclosure “What’s in Your Head VIP”
11 Jeremy Sylvester “If You Want Me” (Urban Dubz)
12 Jhelisa “Friendly Pressure (From Midnight Mix)” (Dorado)
13 Eats Everything “Trubble VIP”
14 Shadow Child “The Verdict Part II” (Food)
15 Disclosure “Latch (?? Remix)”
16 Unknown “#52″
17 Leon Vynehall “Untitled017″ (Well Rounded)
18 Jessie Ware “Running (Disclosure VIP Remix)”