GDD™ Morning Update: Rusko, Damian Lazarus, Scuba, Tone of Arc, Chromatics

• Download Rusko‘s Kapow EP for free
Damian Lazarus compiles Day Zero Sound of the Mayan Spirit
Scuba: “I don’t want to be a part of the EDM visual arms race”
• Tone of Arc “Goodbye Horses” Single, Video
Chromatics Shares Free Download of Unreleased Material


Download Rusko’s Kapow EP for free


Damian Lazarus compiles Day Zero Sound of the Mayan Spirit

Ahead of their upcoming Day Zero event in Mexico, Crosstown Rebels will release a compilation of exclusive tracks called Day Zero Sound Of The Mayan Spirit, selected by label head Damian Lazarus.

As we reported back in September, Day Zero is a 24-hour party in Mexico celebrating the cosmically significant date of December 21st, 2012. “The Mayans foretold that this would be the end of a life cycle, and many people kind of see this as being the end of the world,” Lazarus said. “Most people who have any kind of understanding of the relevance of this date would say it’s more of a new beginning—the beginning of a new chapter.”

To help drum up excitement for the party, Crosstown Rebels have put together this collection all-exclusive material. According to the press release, all 13 tracks were commissioned specially for this release. The tracklist reaches beyond the Crosstown Rebels stable, with contributions from Mike ShannonJay Haze and Mathew Jonsonas well as current label artists like Fur Coat.

01. Pier Bucci – Mayas
02. Quenum – The Prophecy
03. Mathew Jonson- In Seach of a New Planet with Oxygen
04. Metrika – Jeel, k’eex
05. Francesca Lombardo – Cosmic Dancer
06. Fur Coat – Greed, Insanity
07. Fosky & BOg – Chestionabil
08. Jay Haze -2012
09. Eduardo Castillo – Ahometa Kuyaxi
10. Navid Izadi ft. KMLN – Kurandero
11. Mike Shannon – Sunrise
12. Thugfucker & Shaun Reeves – Timewave Zero
13. Acid Pauli & Nu – 12

Crosstown Rebels will release Day Zero Sound Of The Mayan Spirit on December 3rd, 2012.


Scuba: “I don’t want to be a part of the EDM visual arms race” 

Hotflush boss Scuba launched his brand new live show in London this weekend at the Hotflush warehouse party.

The show, which took place at East London’s Oval Space, featured a bill entirely made up of artists from the Hotflush roster including George Fitzgerald and Lando Kal.

But while launching a live show that focuses heavily on striking lights and lasers, Scuba has said he’s not interested in becoming part of the EDM visual arms race.

Speaking to The Independent, the DJ said of the show, “The last thing I wanted was to get involved in this whole cliche of the EDM-live visual arms race. The focus of the show is very much the music and the visual elements are there to add emphasis and atmosphere to the whole thing.”

Scuba, real name Paul Rose, then went on to say, “I want people to dance. The idea of having a bunch of people stood in a room with their arms crossed listening to techno and watching some flashing lights and stuff appearing on screens doesn’t appeal to me at all. Actually I can’t stand the whole VJ thing. You go to a club to dance, not watch TV.”

After launching the live show at the sold out party this weekend, Scuba now plans to tour the live show next year, with a show in his adopted hometown of Berlin in the pipeline for early next year.

(via Mixmag)


Tone of Arc “Goodbye Horses” Single, Video

No.19 Music, formed from the Canadian brain trust of Jonny White [one-half of Art Department] & Nitin Kalyan, has been keeping up the momentum in 2012 with a string of quality releases from the likes of Art Department & Konrad Black, Ali Love, Cameo Culture and Tone of Arc.

Tone of Arc is San Francisco based, multi-instrumentalist producer Derrick Boyd, along with partner/vocalist Zoe Presnick. Derrick has been a fixture on the electronic music scene for a number of years but it’s since hooking up with Jonny White and No.19 that his star has really ascended. Their debut single “Shaking the Sky/No Pushers” received broad critical acclaim on its release earlier this year and saw them featured widely in the international press and their sound being imprinted on dance floors around the globe.

Now Tone of Arc is backed with a brand new release that is set to give an insight into the broader musical realms of which they inhabit. The record opens up with “Goodbye Horses,” a cover of the 1988 Q Lazzarus hit that famously featured in the film ‘Silence of the Lambs.’ Boyd treats the composition with a deft touch, staying true to the original in many ways whilst bringing his own unique sound to bear, a dark edged eighties electro feel runs throughout and Boyd’s own vocals soar over the arrangement with real power, quality stuff indeed.

“Goodbye Horses” is followed by one of Boyd’s original compositions, the excellent “Soundsail” featuring vocals from Boyd and partner Zoe Presnick. The track has a distinctly Balearic feel with its repeated piano chords and uplifting vocal elements playing off the rolling rhythms and deep pads/synths. The original version is complimented by a remix from Crosstown Rebels / Wolf + Lamb artist Deniz Kurtel, as she turns “Soundsail” into a stripped and ethereal reworking that is brilliantly hypnotic and a perfect late night twist on Boyd’s original.

No.19 Music will be hosting a label showcase at the beginning of the New Year at The BPM Festival in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, with performances by Art Department, Clayton Steele, Deniz Kurtel, Louie Fresco, Nitin, and Tone of Arc. 

This is just the beginning, with the Tone of Arc debut album in the pipeline for early 2013. Enjoy this gem sampler of what is to come and with the No.19 label behind them it would seem they are on course for big things.


Chromatics Shares Free Download of Unreleased Material

It’s interesting to see how producer Johnny Jewel went from being almost entirely silent to considerably prolific since the release of Chromatics‘ Kill for Love double-LP. Between hisSymmetry project, the drumless version of Kill for Love, After Dark 2, and the remastered version of the first After Dark comp, the Italo-obsessed artist has been pumping out tunes all year long. Now, he’s offering another collection of new sounds, 35 minutes of unreleased material from the sessions that birthed Kill for Love. Running from the Sunappeared on Johnny Jewel’s SoundCloud today along with a message. He writes: “Recorded November 2009 through December 2011, these songs were all mixed between 4 and 6 a.m. After hours of tracking at the studio in Montreal, we’d clear the channels on the mixer, open a bottle of wine, and feel around in the dark…working our way through the atmospheric elements and peeling back layers of rhythm…throwing the songs into the abstract pile and playing them while driving home in the snow.” Of the eight tracks offered here, a few are alternate versions of previously released songs, some have never been heard before, and others have surfaced but been unavailable to download. You can stream/download Chromatics’ Running from the Sun and check out its tracklist below.

Dreaming In Color (00:23-03:08)
Red Car (03.09-07:27)
Kill For Love (07:27-11:30)
Last Wish (11:31-15:01)
Running From The Sun (15:02-19:13)
Disintegration (19:14-22:31)
These Streets Will Never Look The Same (22:32-30:53)
Blue Moon (30:54-34:38)

(via XLR8R)