GDD™ Morning Update: Future Music Festival, Flume, Toro y Moi

• Future Music Festival announces mega 2013 lineup
• Flume preps his debut album
• Toro y Moi gives Anything in Return


Future Music Festival announces mega 2013 lineup

Having raised the bar with 2012’s A-list cast, Future Music Festival has once again assembled a huge line-up for 2013. The national festival, which hits Brisbane, Perth, Sydney, Melbourne and Adelaide in March, comes with a ‘Day Of The Dead-Set Awesome’ theme this time, and they’ve pulled out stops to make it a very full piñata. Trance, techno, dubstep, house, electro and some of the biggest live headliners in the game will be spread across two mainstages and a host of curated arenas. So who’s making the trip down here to help us end the summer season with a bang?

At the top of the long list is untouchable headliner The Prodigy, who’ll bring the Warrior’s Dance Arena to all cities. With a focus on “hard-edged and heavy bass-driven music”, the band will be in illustrious company. In the Warrior’s Dance Arena is German impresario Boys Noize, whose new album Out Of The Black is poised for big things, bass-bender Feed Me bringing his With Teeth live show to Australia for the first time, plus the heavy-duty sounds of Kill The NoiseZeds Dead andBorgore. As for The Prodigy themselves, there’s a new album on the way and they’ve lost no incendiary power as a live unit.

On the live front, legendary troupe The Stone Roses is FMF-bound after making their return in front of 240,000 fans in Manchester this year, while Bloc PartyDizzee Rascal and Azealia Banks will flex their festival experience. Then there’s the curveball: special guest Psy. It sure came out of leftfield, but with 400 million views on YouTube, there’s no denying the appeal of Gangnam Style and the K-Pop star behind it.

As ever, there’s a huge cast of inthemix favourites locked in. Ibiza kingpin and Future Music Festival mascot Sven Vath returns for his fifth run with the tour, this time presenting the Cocoon Heroes arena. With full theming and production, Vath will be joined by no less than Richie HawtinRicardo VillalobosSeth Troxler and Magda. How’s that for a techno tent? Trance acolytes can this time look forward to Cosmic Gate leading the Wake Your Mind stage, plus there’s the much-wishlist-ed likes ofA-TrakAlesso and Hardwell. First release tickets go on sale Thursday October 18 through theFuture website for $140 + booking and service fees.

Future Music Festival 2013 line-up:

Special Guest PSY (Gangnam Style)
Dizzee Rascal
Bloc Party
Azealia Banks
Rita Ora
Boys Noize (Live debut)
The Temper Trap
Ellie Goulding
Steve Aoki
Gypsy & The Cat
A-Trak (Live)
Feed Me (Live)
Zeds Dead
Kill The Noise
DJ Fresh (Live)
Zane Lowe
Bombs Away
The Stafford Brothers & Timmy Trumpet
COCOON HEROES featuring…
Sven Vath
Richie Hawtin
Ricardo Villalobos
Seth Troxler

WAKE YOUR MIND featuring…
Cosmic Gate feat Emma Hewitt
Andy Moor
Super8 & Tab
Ben Gold

National tour dates:

BRISBANE – Saturday 2nd, March Doomben Racecourse
PERTH – Sunday 3rd March, Arena Joondalup
SYDNEY – Saturday 9th March, Randwick Racecourse
MELBOURNE – Sunday 10th March, Flemington Racecourse
ADELAIDE – Monday 11th March, Bonython Park [NEW VENUE]

Future Music Festival 2013 – Day Of The Dead-Set Awesome from Future TV on Vimeo.

(via inthemix)


Flume preps his debut album

Flume‘s debut self-titled album will be released on November 9th.

Flume, AKA Harley Streten, has been making a significant impact on Sydney’s electronic scene for more than 12 months with his lush brand of pop-infused, beat-driven IDM. His first single, “Sleepless”, earned him strong support from national broadcaster Triple J and the listening public. Subsequent remixes for artists like Hermitude and Future Classic label-mates New Navy populate his bustlingSoundCloud page. The album, which will be released on both CD and vinyl formats, will feature new vocal collaborations with Australian acts Chet Faker and Moon Holiday. 

01. Sintra
02. Left Alone feat. Chet Faker
03. Sleepless feat. Jezzabell Doran
04. On Top feat. T.Shirt
05. Stay Close
06. Insane feat. Moon Holiday
07. Change
08. Ezra
09. More Than You Thought
10. Space Cadet
11. Bring you Down feat. George Maple
12. Warm Thoughts
13. What You Need
14. Star Eyes

Future Classic will release Flume on November 9th, 2012.

(via Resident Advisor)


Toro y Moi gives Anything in Return

Toro Y Moi will release his latest full-length, Anything in Return, next January viaCarpark Records.

While the producer born Chaz Bundick has been synonymous with the sort of dense, bearly electronic sound music bloggers dubiously tagged “chillwave” a couple years back, his output has lately revealed some restlessness: his most recent release was a dance 12-inch under the alias Les Sins for Daphni’s Jiaolong label (which you can hear in full on Toro Y Moi’s Soundcloud). It seems Anything in Return will continue the trend. Interview, who broke news of the LP, quotes Bundick describing his writing process on the album as “trying to make sincere pop music that’s not all processed and bubblegum. Underground isn’t always relevant; I want to see what’s popular, then put my own spin on it.”

01. Harm in Change
02. Say That
03. So Many Details
04. Rose Quartz
05. Touch
06. Cola
07. Studies
08. High Living
09. Grown Up Calls
10. Cake
11. Day One
12. Never Matter
13. How’s It Wrong

Carpark Records will release Anything in Return on January 22nd, 2013.

(via Resident Advisor)