GDD™ Morning Update: Bassnectar’s European Vacation, Lindstrøm’s New Album, Eats Everything US Tour, Miguel Campbell gets Back in Flight School

Good morning! Today’s news includes Bassnectar’s European Vacation, Lindstrøm’s New Album, the Eats Everything US Tour, and Miguel Campbell getting Back in Flight School. Please read on after the jump.


Bassnectar Commences “European Vacation” Tour, Gifts fans with free mixtape and official tour video

BASSNECTAR – the California-based DJ, producer and virtuosic maestro of all things bassy, and the man who has singlehandedly sold more hard concert tickets in North America than any other EDM artist this year (Deadmau5, Guetta, Skrillex, Avicii, Tiesto…the lot!) – is about to set off on his most gargantuan European tour yet!

Aptly christened “Bassnectar’s European Vacation” – and kicking off at the mighty Pukklepop Festival in Belgium tonight (Friday 17th August) – the original long-haired, dubbed-up superstar will play a total of 13 shows throughout Europe this summer, taking on a mixture of mammoth club gigs and eye-watering festival stages. Watch the official tour video right here…

In preparation for the colossal occasion – and to whet the appetites of music lovers across the continent – he’s also now decided to share a tasty, eclectic, bass-driven MIXTAPE to get us in the mood – ready for when his body-melting soundscapes reach a city near you. Premiered with MIXMAG as their official ‘Mix Of The Week’ on 15thAugust, Bassnectar’s “European Vacation Mix” is now available to download here for FREE!

“These are a few insane bangers which I decided to compile for my month long summer vacation in Europe. We will be hitting 13 shows (festivals & clubs) and this is a selection of dirty music which I hope you enjoy when you find yourself in a high-speed chase, or tightrope-walking between skyscrapers in a windy metropolis, or sumo-wrestling someone much larger than you…” – Bassnectar

And as if that wasn’t enough, his latest masterpiece long-player VAVA VOOM finally sees its official release throughout Europe on the 20th August. Watch this space – it’s going to be BIG.

1. Si Begg – Intro
2. Random Rab – Beethoven’s Filth
3. Bassnectar – The Matrix ft D.U.S.T.
4. Modeselektor & Ninjaman – Weed Wid da Macka (Bassnectar Remix)
5. Metrik – Your World (Bassnectar Remix)
6. Bassnectar – Ugly ft Amp Live
7. Bill Posters & Deckscar – Face Off (Bassnectar Remix)
8. Bassnectar – Cozza Frenzy ft Seasunz (aca)
9. Bassnectar – Vava Voom ft Lupe Fiasco (Bassnectar Remix)
10. Run DMT – Sugarcube (Bassnectar Remixxx)


Lindstrøm Announces New Album

Following his February album Six Cups of Rebel, Norwegian producer Lindstrøm has announced that he’ll release another LP before the year’s through. The record, titled Smalhans, is out November 6 via Smalltown Supersound.

According to a press release, “smalhans” translates from old-time Norwegian to “scarcity” or “poverty.” Each of the album’s six tracks is named after a traditional Norwegian dish. The album was mixed by Todd Terje.

That’s the cover art, above. Check out the album cut, “Rà-àkõ-st”, and find the Smalhans tracklisting and Lindstrøm’s upcoming U.S. dates below:


01 Rà-àkõ-st
02 Lāmm-ęl-āār
3 Ęg-gęd-ōsis
4 Vōs-sākō-rv
5 Fāār-i-kāāl
6 Vā-flę-r


10-11 Miami, FL – Grand Central
10-12 Washington, DC – U Street Music Hall
10-13 Chicago, IL – Smart Bar

(via Pitchfork)


Eats Everything Announces September USA Tour

Stoney Roads favourite Eats Everything has announced a 5 date tour of North America through the assistance of his signature classic house, UK bass music, Detroit techno, jungle and early rave stylings!

The Bristol based producer who is set to light up Holy Ship for 2013 has a tour schedule that consists of playing in St. Louis, San Diego, Detroit, Miami and Montreal starting on August 30 this year!

Tour Dates
Aug 30 – St Louis @ Lola
Aug 31 – San Diego @ Voyeur
Sep 01 – Detroit @ TV Bar
Sep 02 – Miami @ Electric Pickle
Sep 03 – Montreal @ Piknic Electronic / dirtybird BBQ


In the mean time, you should download his free remix of Sono – Keep Control to celebrate the tour!

(via Stoney Roads)


Miguel Campbell gets Back In Flight School

Miguel Campbell will release his debut album, Back In Flight School, this October onHot Creations

Campbell has been on the scene for years, DJing, making tracks (both under his own name and as part of the duo MAM) and running a label, but his career really took off in 2010 when Jamie Jones heard his track “Something Special” at the Miami Winter Music Conference. Jones released it the next year on Hot Creations, bringing Campbell into the fold of one of the year’s biggest labels (the song also slipped into our Top 50 tracks of 2011). His new LP works with the same ingredients that made that song a hit: house production, disco swagger and moments of unabashed pop crossover. It features guest production from Matt Hughes, Campbell’s partner in MAM, plus vocals from a cast of Leeds artists (Becks Lott, Naroe, Olly Smith, Alex Mills and Ninjitsu). 

Back In Flight School will be the first full-length on Hot Creations. It will reportedly be followed by albums from Hot Natured (Jones’ duo with fellow label head Lee Foss) and Foss solo, both due out in 2013. 

01. Flight School
02. Love Electric
03. Not That Kind of Girl
04. Into Your High
05. Rockin’ Beats
06. Boy
07. The Avenger
08. Something Special
09. Beams of Light
10. Life
11. In Motion
12. Night Mode
13. Dedicated Music
14. Sky Mode
15. Take Off

Hot Creations will release Back in Flight School on October 29th, 2012.

(via Resident Advisor)