GDD™ Morning Update: The Grammy’s, Future Music Festival, Boys Noize & Mr. Oizo, The Chemical Brothers, LCD Soundsystem

Photo by Alexander Jacob

Happy Friday! We’ve made through yet another week and I have another GDD™ Morning Update to close it out. Today’s news features Electronic Music Grammy nominations w/ Skrillex, the Future Music Festival lineup, Boys Noize & Mr. Oizo start Handbrakes, The Chemical Brothers’ live DVD, & LCD Soundsystem’s final show documentary. See it all after the jump.

Electronic Music Grammy Nominations w/ Skrillex For ‘Best New Artist’

Despite the chorus of disbelievers, there’s no doubt 2011 has been good to Skrillex. Now the bro-step/complextro/’insert name here’ superstar has bagged himself a Grammy nomination in the ‘Best New Artist’ category.

Skrillex is up against Bon Iver, Nicki Minaj, The Band Perry and J. Cole – a mixed bunch if ever there was one. Usually dance music is neatly confined to the Best Dance Recording category, so this is a significant moment if you count these kinds of moments as significant.

Skrillex does also appear in the Best Dance Recordings nominees, alongside fellow top-earners like David Guetta and Deadmau5. Robyn’s Call Your Girlfriend is in there breaking up the boys’ club as well.

Arguably the standout of all the dance/electronic nominees is Australia’s own Cut Copy, whose very fine album Zonoscope has scored a nod. The accolade comes after a strong year for the band on the Stateside circuit. What a Grammys it would be if the boys from Melbourne muscled out the competition!



Raise Your Weapon – Deadmau5 & Greta Svabo Bech
Barbra Streisand – Duck Sauce
Sunshine – David Guetta & Avicii
Call Your Girlfriend – Robyn
Scary Monsters And Nice Sprites – Skrillex
Save The World – Swedish House Mafia


Zonoscope – Cut Copy
4×4 = 12 – Deadmau5
Nothing But The Beat – David Guetta
Body Talk Pt. 3 – Robyn
Scary Monsters & Nice Sprites – Skrillex


Cinema – Benny Benassi (Skrillex Remix)
Collide – Leona Lewis (Afrojack Remix)
End of Line – Daft Punk (Photek Remix)
Only Girl (In The World) – Rihanna (Rosabel Club Mix)
Rope – Foo Fighters (Deadmau5 Mix)

(via inthemix)


Future Music Festival Lineup

Future Music Festival 2011 :: Highlights Reel from Future TV on Vimeo.

Future Music Festival returns in 2012 with an eclectic array of artists. Heading up with Australian festival will be Sven Vath, Swedish House Mafia, Paul van Dyk, Fatboy Slim, Chase & Status and Skrillex.

They will be joined by other electronic acts such The Rapture, Azari & Ill, LCD Soundsystem, Jamie Jones and Aphex Twin. There’s a little something to tickle every tastebud.

Tickets are on sale now, so to get yours visit See below for the dates and locations.

Brisbane -Saturday March 3– Doomben Racecourse
Perth – Sunday March 4– Arena Joondalup
Sydney – Saturday March 10– Royal Randwick Racecourse
Melbourne – Sunday March 11– Flemington Racecourse
Adelaide – Monday March 12– Ellis Park

(via Mixmag)


Boys Noize and Mr. Oizo Start Handbrakes

Boys Noize and Mr Ozio have teamed up for a new project called Handbrakes. The pair will release their debut record together in January.

Talking to Mixmag during a recent interview, Boys Noize man Alex Ridha confirmed that he and Mr Ozio have a four track EP scheduled for early 2012.

Fans of the duo will be pleased about the pairing, which promises to throw up some interesting new tunes from two of the most exciting producers in electro.

Annie Mac dropped a Handbrakes tune on her Radio 1 show a couple of months back, but now full details of the link up between Boys Noize and Mr Ozio have been revealed.

The Handbrakes EP, titled ‘#1′, will include a handful of new tracks including ‘Callgirls’, ‘Riho’, ‘The Qat’ and ‘Milc’. It is scheduled to drop on January 23 via Boys Noize Records.
(via Mixmag)


The Chemical Brothers Announce Live DVD

The guessing is over. Pass the popcorn and prepare to dance in the aisles. The unstoppable Chemical Brothers have officially announced ‘Don’t Think’, their first ever concert film.

Directed by visual mastermind Adam Smith, ‘Don’t Think’ was shot at the duo’s performance at Fuji Rock Festival in Japan, July 31, 2011. The film, which has been specially mixed in surround sound by the Chemical Brothers themselves, weaves together the stark psychedelic imagery of the groups legendary live shows with immersive forays into the crowd.

Advance screenings for ‘Don’t Think’ will take place in 20 cities worldwide on January 26, with a global release on February 1.

For more information on ‘Don’t Think’, including a list of cities where advanced screenings are happening visit

(via Mixmag)

LCD Soundsytem Final Show Documentary to Screen at Sundance

Photo by Alexander Stein

The 2012 Sundance Film Festival is going to be heavy on James Murphy. As reported yesterday, the LCD Soundsystem frontman will appear in a feature film called The Comedy, which will screen at the fest. And now, the Arcade Fire fan Twitter Arcade Fire Tube points out that Sundance has announced that the festival will screen the documentary SHUT UP AND PLAY THE HITS, which chronicles the final LCD Soundsystem show at Madison Square Garden this April.

The Sundance site’s description of the film reads: “A documentary that follows LCD Soundsystem front man James Murphy over a crucial 48-hour period, from the day of their final gig at Madison Square Garden to the morning after, the official end of one of the best live bands in the world.” It’s part of Sundance’s non-competition “Spotlight” category.

The documentary was directed by Dylan Southern and Will Lovelace. As Arcade Fire Tube points out, the film’s title comes from Arcade Fire’s Win Butler.
(via Pitchfork)





Leave a Reply