GDD™ Exclusive Video Premiere: Volta Bureau – Hope

Volta Bureau, a new D.C.-based electronic group with Will Eastman, Outputmessage (Bernard Farley) and Micah Vellian (Miguel Lacsamana,) debut their first single, “Hope.” The song is an upbeat, piano-laden tune, set on a sparse, almost melancholic backdrop, while Outputmessage lends a subdued, soulful vocal performance. Conveying both the obsessive nature of Hope and what the future may bring, this bittersweet track is perfect for closing out the summer.

Formed in D.C. in 2010 and announced in May of this year, Volta Bureau’s hypnotic, cosmic take on house, techno and disco is already turning heads and gathering fans, including support from Danny Daze, Phantom’s Revenge, Cosmo Baker, and John Roman among others. With four original preview tracks and a remix for Ursula 1000 (featuring Fred Schneider of The B-52s) under their belt, Volta Bureau is well on their way to becoming one of D.C.’s premier electronic acts.

Volta Bureau – Audiogram One by Volta Bureau
Tracklist for their stellar mixtape + More after the jump


01 Volta Bureau – Hot (unreleased)
02 Lewie Day – That’s the Thing
03 Anthony Collins – Don’t Look Down Now (Roman Flugel Remix)
04 Benoit & Sergio – Everybody (Volta Bureau Slow Jack edit)
05 Codebreaker – Desire (Volta Bureau Remix)
06 Sven VT – Ever Since You Came
07 Volta Bureau – The Greatest
08 Cevin Fisher feat. Loleatta Holloway – You Got Me Burning Up (Supernova Remix)
09 Volta Bureau – Hope

Early Praise for Volta Bureau:

“‘Love Cubed’ is basically bottled bliss, pitch-shifting already-shimmery sounds in the direction of heaven.” – Washington City Paper
Love Volta Bureau “The Greatest,” love the vocal, the build-up are Egyptian pyramid-epic” – Phantom’s Revenge

“(Hope) Love it. Beautiful summer vibes. 100% support in my Loopjack sets, and 110% support on my iPod” – John Roman/Loopjack

“…Volta Bureau’s [sound embraces] incredibly catchy, melodic grooves. These aren’t ‘tracks’ they are songs. House music is still alive and living in Washington D.C.!” – Cosmo Baker

Volta Bureau’s debut single is available on vinyl August 2 and digitally September 5, released on Volta Bureau Music, distributed by ESL Music. Their debut preview tracks, “Let Go,” “The Greatest” “Love Cubed” and most recent, “On Your Own” are available for free download at



2 Responses to GDD™ Exclusive Video Premiere: Volta Bureau – Hope

  1. Redial says:

    Video is tight and the mix is sexy as hell – esp. that unreleased track “Hot”. When’s it comin’ out?

  2. Voltabureaudc says:

    Thanks, Redial! Hoping to release Hot on vinyl (and digital) later this year. Currently looking for a label who’s interested.

Leave a Reply